ss1

Yet More Random Thoughts and Movie Reviews
2001-04-13 - 10:58 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

These are random thoughts, trying to empty my head of the cacophony in there:

Still doing the tightrope walkwith all my responsibilities, as per usual freakishness on my part. Like Uncle Bill's Dr. Tetrazzini story (not on the linked page), I imperil myself, only to have myself invoked, and save myself at the last possible second.

Taxes, projects, bills....


I am relating better to my hair. This is a good thing. However it still mystifies me that I wash it daily, and then put in some goop that makes it seem as though I didn't wash it. Paid twelve bucks for that stuff, when I can grow it for free by not washing my hair.


I took a nap yesterday, then I stayed up late dong my workout. I have an ironman streak going, where I haven't skipped a workout day in a long time. The streak perpetuates itself, because I am loath to end the streak but for an excellent reason. This is a good thing. I believe it may end next week, when I go home for my friend's bachelor party and wedding.


The time at home should be interesting. I still don't understand why most of my friend's have decided to get married at roughly the same time. Its as if there was a meeting, and I wasn't told the plan.

I'm all right with it. But if it happens to you (and if you aren't part of the "marrying" crowd, it will.) it will make you think, too.


Took the wealth test yesterday at thespark.com . It says I will be a millionaire by the time I am thirty five. I so hope that this is true.


Movies:

The Player: Amoral existential peice with a murder mystery twist. Tim Robbins does a great job playing an amoral film studio exec. who murders what he thinks is a stalker, but is actually a writer. Robbins then seduces his wife (who is hot, but cannot act to save her ass), and the mystery unfolds. Watch for the twist, all the way at the end. The scene to watch in this movie is at the spa, when Robbins is busy humping the dead writer's wife, and he tells her of his misdeed, to her unsympathetic ears. Chilling, if you think about it. Definitely a more cerebral peice.

High Plains Drifter: Classic western drama of revenge. Ruthless. Absolutely ruthless. the acting is mostly character driven, but in a piece such as this, naturalisim is ok. I may be wrong, but I believe this is where the term "paint the town red" is coined. I may be wrong, but I have seen no other reference to such an at elswhere. 'Cept maybe in 'The Great Gatsby" ...I could be wrong, but if I am, this is from where it should have been derived. Good movie, but you have to have an appreciation for ruthless western revenge movies to truly enjoy it.

Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The original movie of the horror genre', is all about the words distubing and demented. Do not watch this unless you have an understanding of what these words mean. The cadence, imagery, sick humor, and down right nerve touching freakiness make this an excellent view. I am not a horror film or horror book fan, as I percieve the majority of this stuff to be trash, akin to someone imparting their stale morbid thoughts into my head, which I have no need of, having either a mood not to see such things, or morbid thoughts of my own with which to contend. This takes twisted to new levels. This is a great screeplay, great thoughts with the right amount of psychotic twist to where you can almost see something like this happen in a far flung, deep country place.

Office Space: Mike Judge directed and wrote this cult comedy classic. I suspect its appeal is limited to those in the work place, and probably over the age of 21...but not necessarily, as much of the humor is dead on with well rendered characters, intelligent (albiet off the wall) humor, and the satire of professional cube farm life. If you work in a cubie space, you will recognize several characters in your own office. If not, the quirkiness can still entertain you. A movie that is packed with subtle humor as well as over the top, it can be viewed several times and still be funny.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>