ss1

On Rainbows and the Gym People
2001-05-16 - 12:31 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

Smoked pot after work and had my mind blown yesterday. Immediately after my last toke, I was gripped by a series of visions and realizations.

Still mulling it over. On the plus side, if I do nothing, pretty much nothing tangibly changes around me.

And it was all good stuff. No worries.

If I can articulate it, I will, but it may just be stuff I wouldn't write in a diary, anyway.

Saw another striking rainbow on Monday at the gym.

This so far makes two for the year.

I was the only person who noticed it, until I pointed it out to people who were watching me move to the door and step outside to admire. And even then, only two people appreciated it.

This furthur underscores the reasons behind me never talking to people at the gym. Any gym.

Its not that I think I'm better than the gym people. We just have different interests, and if I'm interpreting things correctly, vastly different lives and ways of veiwing the world.

me(stoned):"Hey, how's it goin'?"

musclehead who was peering intently at me(hyperfast, then exit) :"Workin' hard, gettin' strong."

Ohh-kay.

There are a few that can keep a conversation out of serial monosyllabic territory. Its painful to hear the typical gym conversation stuggle along.

Every once in awhile I will jump in and clear shit up for them, like what main-stream eighties band was just on the stereo, or other simple stuff. It bothers me to hear them struggle and rage at each over the really easy questions.

I used to try to clarify and explain political events and world happenings, but the blank stares just got to me. Like a year ago, attempting to explain the dynamics of the Middle East tensions between Suuni and Shi'ite muslim groups as it pertains to Israel and the Israeli occupation of the West Bank and Gaza Strip, only to hear...

musclehead:"Whatever, man, all them fuckers is crazy. I don't know why we don't just nuke every last one of 'em. We're the U.S. of A.! "

me(blank):"Yeah, crazy...I...don't know why."

So it doesn't surprise me that a rainbow passed unnoticed around these folks. Different set of priorities.

Its okay. Be who you want to be.

I wish we could all apreciate rainbows when they happen. It would make for a better world.

But I understand some people don't get much out of seeing a rainbow.

 

 

 

 

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>