ss1

Reelin' and a Rockin': Weekend Roundup
2001-03-05 - 13:57:44


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

Weekend roundup:

Saw Jen at the Goose friday night, decent convervsation. I would call her, but instead of giving me her phone number, she gave me her last name and told me to look it up. Something like that just doesn't sit well with me. If the slip of paper is there, reminding me, then I will. Something ephermeal like that might as well not exist. And it seems like a mixed signal to me.

Saturday I got a lot of stuff done during the day. Minor triumphs are the parsley garnish to the plate of life. Dropped acid and hung out at home that night, brother came over and we jammed for a few hours. I got a touch of the wanderlust at 4:00a.m. Went to a local park. It was an introspective trip, where I went at myself and sense of self esteem. It was still fun, though. Good acid.

Sunday was pretty cool. Went up to Red Rocks park to go for a walk to the vista I usually visit, my sort-of spiritual compromise for 5 years of parochial school and stuff: find a vista, find some calm and peace, appreciate.

After laying on the rocks for awhile, I went to find that cave that I found the last time I was up there. It was a tube that led to a sort of redoubt. Off and to the side, this led to another chamber(20X6) which led to an open area, and then a crack/cave that led into the Red Rocks ampitheatre itself. I may have found a way to sneak into Red Rocks. I felt all cave man/Indiana Jonesish.

And it got more interesting. There were two paths down to the main trail, one where everybody goes, and the way I like to go...which no one takes. I hop rock to rock to the main trail. Its not that big a deal, nothing more than 3-4 foot gaps and 5-7 ft drops, unless you get some momnetum going down the side, as it is steeper than a 45 degree angle with these titanic Red Rock boulders. After the trail it breaks somewhat more severly, and if you topple over the high side of this, well, then its all about rehab.

Anyway, I made the first few hops with no worries. The last hop brought me to a giant boulder about 40' in length at better than a 45 degree angle, covered in frozen snow. There were three uncovered patches. I figured I could negotiate it. I figured wrong.

The first five feet were fine, until my feet slipped out from under me, and I slid towards the edge, gaining startling speed and unable to stop myself.

Fuck.

Feet first I saw the terrain ahead of me A small rock jutted up two feet below the main boulder with an inverse face at a sharp angle.

Gotta' catch it...just...right....NOW!

I rocketed off of the boulder and caught it heavy with my right and loosley with my left, pushing off with all my strength to break my momentum, and spring back over to the trail.

I landed on my feet with a resounding whoop of elegaic delight, adrenaline thrilling through my body. Damn. That could've really fucked me up. Badly. Perhaps even permanently.

So I took a few more steps, and slipped again, landing my tail bone square on another boulder.

I fell something like three or four times that day. I never, ever fall.

Later that night, cj and his sister came over along with my roomates' girls and we drank wine, watched the Sopranos season opener, and had an authentic home-cooked Italian meal. Sometimes its fun to be an adult.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>