ss1

Useless Senses
2002-02-21 - 10:04 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I have recovered my sense of smell.

After smoking ciggarettes and pot like a fiend, one tends to largely lose one's sense of smell.  Thankfully so.  In such a situation, you only smell what is right in your face.  This is not a bad thing.  I did not miss it.

Well its back, and I am poorer for the experience.

It is not necessarily unwelcome, but it seems that the world is mainly full of foul smelling stuff.

This surprises me.  Not that the world is a smelly place, but that I would rather be without an information gathering sense.

I had always assumed that I would appreciate three or four more senses.  Add them all up, I say.  I will be in tune with my environment.

But there is the double edged saw.  Perhaps the information gained is banal, or rather simply useless and annoying.

Say, telepathy, for instance.  Suppose you had telepathy.

One would think this a positive boon.  Dates and business meetings would open themselves like flowers come to bloom.  All hidden secrets are now yours, the world is your oyster.

This is not necessarily so.  One would also have to wade through all the trite banal shit-like thoughts of the consumers around them.  Bad music fans, fashion mavens, insecure assholes and neurotics abound.

The information so gained, would be much like me regaining my lost sense of smell.

Ninety-nine percent of the information gathered by such a sense is just a waste of time.

I did not miss my sense of smell, although I only hold marginal hope that it will go away again.

Face facts, there are only a few things worth smelling anyway.

Fresh bags of pot.  Wet pussy between the legs of the girl you love.

And the smell of the air after a good rainstorm.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>