ss1

When The Rain Comes
2002-02-20 - 1:16 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Its raining today.

I can hear it pelt into the roof, while I'm warm inside.

I like the rain.

When I was in sixth grade, there was a flood.  Weeks and weeks of rain.

It was so bad they called off school a little while.  Day or two, nothing spectacular.

When we got back, our English teacher talked about the rain.  She was a flighty old bat.

"Do any of you actually like the rain?"  she asked.

I bravely raised my hand.  I say brave because I was the only one, and straying from the herd in sixth grade was verrrrry dangerous.

My classmates looked at me as though I was mad, a look I became accustomed to over the years of deliberately trying to spook the people I sat next to, day-after-day-after-day.

Indeed, it was a look I enjoyed.  Just trying to amuse myself and us all, don't mind me.

But on the days it would rain, I would be quiet.  Quiet and just stare out the window as the water fell and made everything feel clean again. 

Usually, anyway. 

Usually I was quiet when it rained.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>