ss1

Adventures In The Taco Bell Drive Thru
2002-03-24 - 6:11 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Got high and went to Taco Bell just now.

A girl was on the intercom. I fumbled through my order, and pulled up to the first drive through window.

"Woah, not what I expected," the drivethrough flunkie said, (in retrospect) referring to me.

"Yeah, I always expect it to be over there." I said, pointing at the window.

Went on to explain that in other drive thrus, that the window I was pointing to seemed to be the one that opens. I have always thought that about this particular Taco Bell, but had never articulated this thought to anyone ever, given the difficult subject matter.

Taco Bell's are created just about identically. The first window opens. Here there and everywhere. And likely this weird notion that the windows are backwards at THIS particular Taco Bell is just one of those pecadillos I have that I don't tell anyone.

The drivethru guy agreed with me though, mentioning how he never thought of that, and perhaps another store had it constructed with the second window being the aperature.

"We're the fucked up Taco Bell." he said, looking stoned himself with a healthy dose of visine.

"Ah. The 'special needs' Taco Bell. Right on." I said.

And he doubled over his cash register in a pantomine of silent laughter that I would mock the retarded. I paid little mind, as it struck me as obsequious.

He gave me my napkins and change and wished a great day upon me.

I pulled up to the food window, which appears correct put together, and a cute little girl with green eyes ringed in blue, possibly fake, gazed at me with a completely unblinking stare. The other guy made me feel like he had the drop on me, she made me feel like I was taking a shower and she was walking in with a knife.

I think it was meant to be come hither, but it was more like, 'come spook me'. Blink, you. You'll get more dates and won't be complaining about your lonliness to friends who secretly despise you because you're so pretty.

I wanted to chat her up, or otherwise harass her. Shake the tree, see what shakes loose from this little weirdo.

But I can think of better ways to spend my time than striking up conversation in the Taco Bell drive thru.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>