ss1

Confessions Of A Scapegoat Part Four
2001-08-14 - 4:53 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

Confessions Of A Scapegoat

part 4: Flipping the Old Man the Bird

Went over to my brothers last night, after watching, "Smokey and the Bandit" and we waited for the 'rents to get back from their day trip to Steamboat Springs.

'Rents came in, and we played "East Bound and Down" for them on our guitars. We must have seen that movie a dozen times at the drive-in as kids.

Dad apologized.

Dad:"I went home last night, thinking, you know, I was kinda' hard on Jay. I want to apologize."

Its Dad's way of apology. He states that he wants to apologize, but never is quite able to say the words, "I'm sorry." And if you call him on it, and press him for the words, he gets pissed off.

I let it slide. No point in stirring up a hornets nest.

me:"Yeah, hey, whatever, I thought it was all in good fun."

So we played cards. And he starts winning, and talking shit.

And then he starts in, breaking my balls again. About everything. Unrelenting for awhile, culminating in...

Dad:"Didja' think I'd have a card held back? Huh? What about that?"

me(extending the middle finger and putting it directly in his veiw.) "Hey, what about this? Didja' think this was coming? Huh? What about that?"

I flipped him the bird.

My brother's fiance started scolding me. I'm starting to grow to dislike her. She has no personality. She just finds the prevailing current and blows, and then tries asserting herself where she has no business.

Dad:"I'm letting that go because of last night."

Me:"If you weren't my Dad, last night I would've beat. your. ass.-"

Dad:"You would've tried."

Me:"Even if it was one of my oldest, best friends, I would have hit them very, very, hard, and they would know not to do that again."

We continued to play cards. My brother and I lost a game to Dad and my brother's fiance. My brother started getting bitchy. He was bitchy to me all night. It was weird. Like me losing my job(funding for the position has been cut), somehow made him even more high strung.

Me:"Well, on the lighter side of things, I don't have to worry about my job performance tomorrow."

The mood lightened considerably after that.

The series was tied at the end of the night.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>