ss1

Mini-Vans? What?
2001-03-07 - 14:50:10


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3 Why do people in mini-vans ever drive fast?

It doesn't matter where I am driving, I will be passed, or attemted to be passed by a mini-van, driving a lot faster than these grocery-getters should go.

Villagers aren't meant to be fast, hence the name. (How fast can a villager, any villager, go?) A Caravan never broke the land speed record. Town and Country doesn't mean down and funky. The name has nothing to do with quickness.

At first I thought it was some angry father, rueing the fact that he knocked his woman up, condemned to a life of soccer practices and pta meetings, dreaming of a 'mazaradi and lots of loose women' life-style, the only consolation he gets being the times he can screw it on down the highway, passing a kid like me driving a sleek car, who doesn't care to hop on board his James Bond-ish delusions of grandeur.

But it's not just that element. Women, too.

Why?

What is the deal?

I don't get it. The bus left the station, and I wasn't on the bus.

I could race them down the road, and beat them at their own game, but I have no love for moving violations and the dmv.

Besides, I would be playing into their bent, neurotic fantasies.

So believe what you want to believe, you urban hipster.

Yeah, your car is fast.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>