ss1

My Parents Are Going Deaf
2002-01-03 - 9:45 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

My parents are getting old.

They listen to the television at a very high volume.  It reminds me of going to visit a particular Grandma and hearing the TV resonate through the house.

One time, this particular grandma, which was a great-grandma, thought there were people in her house.  Strangers.

Invaders.

However, as it turns out, it was PBS, on a decibel level that should not have been available in a mono-speaker television.

(The old kind...with a dial.  Rabbit ears.  Tinfoil.)

It reminds me that my parents are getting old, now, with the TV so loud.

My mother is losing more hearing than my father, I believe.  She talks a bit loudly for my ears.

I believe my ears are sensitive to her voice, for whatever reason, but this is beyond that.  I feel it.  It is uncomfortable.

And I have to remind her, "I'm right heeereee.  You don't have to talk so loud."

And she adjusts.  In the past I would whisper, "Use your inside voice." 

But this would make her extremely agitated with me.

I wonder as time goes on, will I have to save one of my parents from the perils of PBS?

I hope not.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>