ss1

Colonoscopies and Nicorette
2002-01-04 - 3:40 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

My mother had a colonoscopy today.  She had six polyps biopsied for cancer.

The doctor said the polyps appeared clean.  Meaning that mother does not have cancer.

There is still a cell study that goes on, but I am willing to take the doctors word for it.  It would seem to me that if there were any doubt, that he would communicate this.

This is a relief.  Its nice to hear good news.  I had my doubts, seeing as both my parents smoke like chimneys in alpine winter.

(it is impressive...growing up, any of my friends who styled themselves "smokers" could not hold a candle to my parents, in terms of sheer volume.  My mother asked me once if any of my friends were smokers.  I said yes.  She asked how much they smoked, and I replied that they smoked a pack a day.  She shrugged and said, "they're not smokers."

Put in other terms, although they do not do it anymore, they used to import ciggarettes for personal use from a tribe of Navajo Indians, to avoid the sales tax.  This has always amused me.)

So in the past year, both parents have come clean in two separate cancer scares, having smoked both easily for twenty years plus.

One would think that they would quit after dodging these bullets.  I asked mother today if she was considering quitting, and she whispered in a low voice, I think so that Dad couldn't hear, "I'm getting Nicorette, and I'm thinking of quitting in a month."

Unfortunately, I read non-verbals quite well, and all the non-verbals sheepishly said she was not quitting, or has serious doubts about being able to quit, much like asking a two-year old if they took a cookie out of the cookie jar without permission, knowing full well they did, only to hear in reply, "Noooo-ooooo-oooo."

Nicorette.

That strikes me as being similar to trying to fix William of Wallace after his evisceration with a band-aid and some Neosporin.  Ahit  juust dohn't wehrk.

As for myself, I am almost out of marijuana.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>