ss1

Validated Cynicism
2001-09-05 - 3:56 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

So my cynicism is validated.

I went home to get some money to get my tire fixed. Normally, they don't charge for patches, but sometimes they do, and I didn't want to be the dumb guy standing there with a pocket full of lint and a sheepish expression on his face.

While I'm at home, admittedly parked opposing traffic, like we all do from time to time without problems, eating a snack , I hear the sqwak of Official Radio Communication and the idling of an Official Vehicle. The Parking Prick.

argentum: gets into car and attempts to drive off.

pp:"Wait!"

argentum:"I was just going back to work..."

pp"I have a ticket here for you. Expired plates."

argentum:"I don't have expired plates, they're right here." (holds up legit plates inside of car)

pp:(slightly raised voice)"Well, then I can write you a ticket for not having your plates on correctly!"

argentum:"Don't shout at me, please."

pp:"Okay."

argentum:"So..."

pp:"So, what you can do is take this and your registration to the referee, and they'll take care of it. I can't do anything, its already in the computer. Here."

argentum: look of disgust

I don't really feel bad. It will be dismissed. Went to get my tire fixed, and they also put it on, free of charge. Nice of them. I ended up waiting an hour.

I chatted with two different girls separately. After one brief exchange, the one I was talking to, Jennifer, got called up for service authorization, and I moved to the other who was sitting outside, whose named turned out to be Janette.

As I crossed the lobby to go outside, a seedy mexican looking guy sitting nearby looked at me and said quietly to me,

sm:"You should have jumped on her."

argentum:"What?"

Confusion.

We repeated this exchange two more times, and after a decided deficiency in the explanatory department, I only had a vague notion of what he meant.

So I half heartedly laughed as I nodded and said, "Oh. Yeah."

(Jump on her? What? JUMP? ON her? Right there in the store? Are you sure about this? Does this work for you? Hmm. I never have an agenda. Maybe that's the problem.)

For some reason, I am still optimistic.

However the world validates my cynicism much more often than my optimisim.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>