ss1

Buying My Costume
2001-10-28 - 4:23 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Getting the hair had been the easy part.

It was the annual Halloween party, and I decided to go as a mullet.

The Nails and Hair shops in the ghetto usually advertise hair extensions, and this is where I started.

So I went to a Hispanic part of town and stopped at a Beauty Supply store.  Only Real Hair would do, nothing less.

The clerk was Asian, and very stoned.

clerk:"You want to be a what?"

A:"A mullet.  A redneck.  Short on top, long in back.  The Sho-Low.  The Tennessee Waterfall.  See what I'm saying?"

Clerk:"No."

A:"Like NASCAR..."

And with that, a light lit up in his eyes.

clerk:"Ahh.  Like 'Joe Dirt'."

Well, sort-of.   The clerk had picked up on my zeal, so I was in no mood to argue.

He then dug into his three foot deep wall of hair, and matched the hair color to my own.

For Halloween, I would don a mullet, and it would be a weave 

(weaf?  That's what the package said.  It also contained directions to "wash ereything" at least once a week.  So, from heretoforever it is known in the parlance of our times as a 'weaf'.)

And I was not done.  I needed a shirt.

I stopped at Target.  The African-American clerk there had no grasp of the situation.

clerk:"A...a...what?"

A:"A mullet.  A sho-lo.  A Tennessee Waterfall."

clerk:"I'm having trouble picturing what you are saying..."

A:"A redneck....like that fellow."  (points at a mullet)

clerk:"That is a special look..."

A:"So I need a T-shirt.  One that says 'NASCAR' or wrestling, like 'Stone Cold Steve Austin' or  'No Fear'."

Clerk:"I don't think we have anything like that.  Try Mervyn's."

So I went to Mervyn's.  And I found another clerk, who also happened to be African-American, who tried to help me.

He was shrewd.  He knew what I was talking about, and appreciated the idea. 

Which, come to think of it, might have helped race relations in my corner of the world an infantesimal bit, as I made fun of what is a notoriously racial stereotype.  While we can still laugh, the haters will never win. 

He got the manager, and explained that I needed a NASCAR, wrestling, or a 'No Fear' t-shirt.

The manager was confused, and told me to go to 'GART' sports.

clerk: "Sorry, bro."

a:"No worries."

So I went to GART.  There was a white suburbanite sweeping the store, with the store entirely abandoned by consumers.

He said he understood, but I looked into his eyes, and he did not share my fervor.

clerk:"Like the people who wear wranglers and NASCAR shirts?"

a:"Possibly, but not necessarily.  They sometimes wear 'No Fear'."

clerk:"Ummm.  No.  Sorry.  All of our summer stuff-"

a:"-damn it.-"

clerk:"-is boxed up in back."

(pause)

clerk:"Try K-Mart."

So I went to K-Mart, and upon entry, was very glad I was not on drugs.   Banal, indiscriminate consumerdom.

People in strange costumes, slinking around.

A very large inflatable Santa, standing in the middle of the aisle for no apparent reason, loomed ominously.

And all of the help had a poor command of the English language.

Through tedious communication, I was directed towards the men-s t-shirts.

I rifled through the rack.  This is K-Mart, they have to have a NASCAR shirt.

I found one.  The last one in the store, as improbable as that sounds.

I exclaimed my approval.

It had a list of every race of the prior year, celebrating that cultural religion of the mullet world the is the Winston Cup Championship series.

And it was on sale.

I purchased the shirt, and went home.

Time to get dressed and go to the party.

Time to wear my faux warm-necked plumage that would be a symbol of my verility.

Yes, it was time to don my weaf. 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>