ss1

Animals and Me
2002-05-21 - 7:30 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

In another note, I hit a point of maturity, I think, today when I realized what I like about animals, and that I get more reward from what I like about them than killing them.

Slowly crawling my way towards being civilized.

The reward I get is seeing their dimly throbbing intelligence.  I love to get inside their minds, and figure out what the world looks like to them.  It looks similar, but much different.

I sat on the toilet taking a shit the other day, and a mourning dove really wanted to be in the bathroom with me.  I don't know why.  I don't even like to be in there with me.

He lurked by the window, making attempts to come in, but, of course, there is no ingress.

True to my weird ways, I wondered if perhaps he was some sort of spirit familiar, some animal avatar, or maybe a spirit guide of a sort that the Indians took peyote and wandered out into the wilderness, starving for a week until the found them.

"Can you take the pain away?"  I prayed, "Can you heal me?"

The bird fluttered close, and then back, trying to get a perspective on entering my house. 

"Heal me."  I prayed again, "Heal me."

I toyed with the notion of popping the screen off, and letting the little beast in with me.

But then I thought, "What the fuck am I going to do with a mourning dove while I'm taking a shit?"  It was just stress I didn't need on my hands at the time while I was otherwise occupied.

And the mourning dove flew away.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>