ss1

Why Whip Poor Will
2002-05-21 - 7:31 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

When I was little I took piano lessons.  My aunt, who is strange, (I love her, but, she is way overweight, and lives with a bunch of cats next door to her parents.  Musical genius.), taught me some piano.  She kept on with one song.

The song was called "Whip-poor-will".   Like the bird.

"I like this song.  You're going to learn it." she said.

And I don't remember much of the song itself, except the refrain went something like,

As the nightime falls,

you hear the bird calls,

why  whip

poor will

as the night time falls,

you hear the bird calls

why whip,

poor will.

why whip

poor will.

She'd sing it, and then laugh like Satan himself farting in a church.

(really scatological today)

I suppose I have a few questions. 

1) Why does will have to be whipped at all?  Couldn't he just get a stern talking to and be done with it?  Should Social Services be involved?

 2) Who the hell writes such a twisted song for children to learn?

Subquestion 2b)  Why are so many childrens tunes so fucked up?  Case in point, Ring around the Rosie, a common song, common game for children is about contagious disease.  How and why did such morbidity become attatched to children and their practices?

No wonder I am a morbid fucker.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>