ss1

Trip Home: Wed/Thurs...The Fun Has Just Begun
2001-04-23 - 10:50 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

So much to say, but so much has passed between us.

As ever, I confide only unto you.

So I made it back, only to find the internet was not availale at my house at that time, due to a particular abscence of dial tone, for whatever reason. The past four or five days have been bleak as far as html and the internet have been concerned.

I could write a book about this last trip. It would be a Faulkner-esque. Lots of strangeness.

I hit emotional overload by about the second day. Maybe Friday.

Here is a recap, broken down day by day. You could match the stories, to the free-flowing stream of conciousness that I wrote for that particular day, to get a little deeper into my head, if you wished. But I am most likely the only one who will ever to bother to do that.

Weds:

Got into town at about 8:00 pm.

Hung out with my best friend. Hung out with the 'rents.

 

Thurs:

Hung out with my best friend. Hacky-sacked for a little while. He gave me a T-shirt from Prague and a pack of rolling papers from Amsterdam. (which are currently on the bedroom floor, waiting for my mother to find them). Saw one of his dogs, a chocolate lab named 'Daisy'. I had thought Daisy was still a young dog. By her walk, and the gray around her muzzle, I became even more aware how much time has passed.

Then I went and hung out with another close's friend's girlfriend, and we smoked a lot of weed. Found myself talking most to the people who needed to get things off their chest the most. Talking to the people who needed me the most. She misses her boyfriend/fiance'/my close personal friend because they are starting out (and whatta' start, believe me. Already looking at buying a rental property) and have no time for each other, what with work and school.

From there i went to the bar to meet up with more friends and their wives, lovers, and fiances'.

I'm 26. I shouldn't feel this old. Everyone who doesn't have a ring, looks like they have it in the works. wtf?

The bride-to-be lets slip that her sister thinks I am "hot", and she and her friends scan me for a reaction. I let nothing slip. More about this later...

One of my friends, of the original five or so of us, will not attend the wedding, due to his wife not liking, well, seemingly all of us. She had a problem with a few of the girls, and it seems to have spread like wildfire since then. She doesn't even like me.

The theory is that she has no friends, and wants her husband to have no friends with her.

I talk about all of this with the groom, and he slurs incoherently, sluggish from booze and the trip.

At one point, I start something that could have been trouble. There was this girl. She had leather pants on a great body. We'd had some eye-contact games since I entered the bar.

She sidled up next to me.

She (pointing at some of my friends): "I'm just trying to listen. Hear a secret."

Me (not to be blown off): "It's not that important. My name is Jay"

And she stops, like I said something magical, and looks into my eyes. We stand for a moment, looking into each others eyes, and she looks wobbled. I have no idea why.

She:"uh...I think I know you...I know I've heard about you...I'm sure of it..."

Me(non-chalant, skeptical, although it is definitely possible):"No. No way. You haven't. We've never met. I don't know you--"

And she shifts gears like a racecar. What-a-woman.

She(thinking hard now)"No, I'm sure I've heard stories about you. Let me ask my husband...Jeff."

Whoops.

Jeff is an acquaintance/friend, albeit a distant friend. I had heard he got married, but I like, had no idea. No worries, though. We all go too far back for this to matter, and I am a bad bastard.

Anyway, more about this later, also.

Went to bed, with my head already spinning from the love and stories.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>