ss1

Tales of the Death-Wish pt.8
2001-05-22 - 12:46 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

And the Hits Just Keep on Rollin'...

Tales of the Death-Wish

 

Pt. 8 : Survival is Key

 

Sunday I woke up feeling fresh and great.

I had soaked listening to "The Pixies", and decided to go to my thinking spot at Red Rocks and sort some stuff out. Smoke the last of my reefer. Consumate my Sunday ritual. Listen to the Pixies on the way.

I like the Pixies, but that is a depressing vibe. Almost...but not quite as depressing as "Mazzy Star" and Hope Sandoval's sultry and seductive sounds.

(My friends back home refer to Mazzy Star as "shoot yourself" music, as in, "Why are you listening to 'shoot yourself' music?")

Anyway, I felt great, but my focus was off. Made it up to Red Rocks in amazing time.

Got out, and saw that a storm was spilling over the mountains. Put on a pair of jeans and set out for a little walk.

Found that big assed boulder that I slid down and almost wrecked myself. It still surprises me how I rose to that occasion. The place that I was able to acrobatically land is so far away from where I started.

Decided to explore a little bit. The ampitheatre itself is carved out of the volcanic red rock, and towers over the surrounding area. There are many little hidden paths, precipices and chambers all over the place.

I hike up the side, and start taking a circuitous route. Through a chamber , and climbing up a chute. Took selerity, dexterity, and skill.

I found this little bowl, with a decent rock in the middle of it, that looked good for musing and toking. Good view of the valley, and Denver.

I hopped boulder to boulder over to it. Looked around, and saw a chute down to another chamber. Checked the perimiter to see the possibilities. Made a decent leap of about four feet or so back to the center boulder, and I rolled my ankle over very hard.

I collapsed, making sure not to fall off, with an exclamatory, "FUCK!"

Great, great amounts of pain. Yet my foot is wholly numb. Just the insides hurt.

In that intial moment, I thought it was broken.

So I sat for a minute, and weighed my options.

I'm where I'm not supposed to be, away from all reasonable options of help, there is a storm rolling in, I'm gimp as hell, and it was difficult to get here when I had full use of both wheels.

I smoked the last of my reefer, and watched the city, pondering for an hour.

There is nothing to say when you are screwed beyond all reason. No drama. You sigh, mutter something like, "shit", reach down, grab ahold of some intestinal fortitude, and do what you have to do.

My foot and ankle were useless. It had no strength and could not bear weight. It could balance if I stood very still, and put no weight on it.

I looked to the sky. The wind had picked up tremendously. The temperature had plummeted. Time to act.

I clambored up, through, down and around, almost falling a couple of times, which would've significantly injured me.

I made it down, and limped to my car. I felt nothing. Just survival.

As I drove home, sixty mile an hour winds hit. The bank sign in town said 47 degrees. I thought it was wrong.

By the time I got home, it was snowing.

 

 

"Well, there's a storm system on the way, Ron has all the details...Ron? Thanks, yes the metro area was hit with a surprise spring snowstorm that has dumped a couple of inches already and is expected to drop a few more before its all over. The big story today was the gusting winds that hit the metro area, stirring up dust and debris all over. Look at this footage of highway six as sixty mile an hour winds blasted out of the foothills reaching up to eighty miles an hour in some parts of the foothills..."

 

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>