ss1

Resp Ispa Laquotir
2001-11-30 - 10:50 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I stopped my vigilance for the parking pricks yesterday, to get ready for my job interveiw, which apparently consisted of wondering how many times I have jerked off and being late, and I got another parking ticket.

I will soon owe my ass to the city.  I have a small pile in my passenger's seat.

Fuck em'.

I was fifteen minutes late to the interview.  I wore soft black leather shoes, bluejeans, white collared button-down shirt, black sport coat, blue paisely tie, and jet black sunglasses.

(I've worn that look to court before, when I had to provide testimony in the numerous cases I worked on at the resedential center, which usually consisted of, "No, your honor, so-and-so has made progress, but still needs to work on some things.")

I hurtled up into the mountains, out of the Denver smog, and found the place in short order, nestled in the bosom of Mt. Evans.

Its a nice treatment facility for 6-13 year olds.  Non-adjudicated kids.

Kids with behavior problems, but not felons, or even criminals.

They made me fill out their resume, and I went in to see the director.

Everyone was wearing sweatshirts and jeans, or sweat-pants.  Boots.

I knew I could have dressed down, thinking I did a little with the blue-jeans, but I tend to forget the environment of most RTC's.  Better to be over-prepared, I guess.

She had read my resume while I filled out their application.  She started the interveiw by seeing if the schedules would co-incide, as the whole point of this is to enable me to go back to school.

It was then that I could tell by her non-verbals and para-verbals that I was in like flynn.

"Well, the schedule matches up.  Ooookayyy!"

Of course I was.  I am so overqualified for this position its unreal.  Anyone at an RTC would be half crazed not to hire me.

Its a small facility.  Maybe 45 kids.  Fifteen staff.  Very...intimate.

It was something I thought of when I was a groupleader, and a place I thought of applying at when I first moved out here.

Up in the mountains, little kids, not too much stress.

(compared to working with multiple felons and their families, no, its not that much stress--so fuck you and your baby-sitting job.)

And I did like working with kids.  Kids were always the easy part, its the adults that suck.

(listen to me, I used to consort with Known Felons and Other Criminals)

And I will have little responsibility in this position.

Still haven't decided.  It is an overnight position, and I would work thursday, friday, saturday and sunday nights.  Meaning no funtime for argentum

But I would ostensibly be on the path to Making More Money.

So maybe I've had enough fun for a little while.  I don't know.  Perhaps not.

Certainly puts a crimp in the dating possibilities.  No one wants to go out with a guy only on wednsdays, and will not be there on weekend nights.

But its part of a path that I need to take, or otherwise be a poor schlep.

I don't know.

After the interview, I eschewed saying hi to the kids in favor of eating.  I went to Kermit's, a biker bar.

Inside, instead of bikers, was a few people with too much money, too much time, and little sense.

I ate my food in relative quiet and left.  

I paused outside, put on my jet black shades, and roared off into the hills.

I've got until Tuesday to make up my mind.  That is when I go in to observe, and give a final answer.

This weekend I will drink and think.

I would also like to pause and take a moment to mourn the passing of George Harrison, part of one of the greatest bands the world has seen, the Beatles.

resp ispa laquotir--say nothing but good about the dead.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>