ss1

Trying To Buy A Laptop
2002-10-06 - 4:30 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

So I'm on four scams and counting.

I've been trying to buy a laptop, a sleek new a*ple, to no avail.

Bargain hunting at the auction sites is like searching around a garbage pile for gold, the con artists mill around like flies.

The first guy and I traded many messages, and one night I even lost sleep, eager in my anticipation of getting my greedy paws on some electrionic sex appeal.  Whoah boy, I was going to get a lot done with that mother.

He was from Romania, which should have been my first clue, not much has come out of Romania before or since Vlad the Impaler, and that's really not what you should want for a legacy for your country.  Somebody, do something noteworthy.

"I understand your concern, but if you just wire transfer the funds by Western Union, I can ship in 10-12 hours..."

No, Vlad, obviously you don't understand my concern.  No laptop on my porch, I send no money to Transylvania.  Compute amongst your spooks and ghosts of the wrongly impaled, but brother, without security you will never get my money.

I've been trying to get them to use escrow.com, which is a mighty fine site, I do believe.  Everyone is covered, like the third guy in an arrangement of macho bets, who can throw the farthest, or who can win a contest, there will be no funny-business, and the man holds the money.

But these cats are all about the funny business, and I have a target on my forehead.  A fool and his money are soon parted, are lucky enough to get together in the first place, but it doesn't take any sort of special endowment from the gods to hold onto it.

Four and counting.  Two were suspended by E*AY mid-auction for reasons I can only suspect, but have to believe is out-and-out fraud.  I have never been suspeded by E*AY, what's your excuse, criminal?

The last guy was from france, and had the same exact rap as the first guy from Romania.  I tried to initiate with escrow, but oh-no, the bureaucracy in france is too tight, can't do that, apparently, or so he says.  Yeah, fuckin' right.  You guys just stabbed your mayor in the gut and get your children drunk, don't bullshit me.

And the follow up letter was almost word for word the same as the romanians.  He even mis-spelled bureaucracy wrong, and misspelled it the same way.  Birocracy.  Which leads me to believe that this is the same auction-scam guy, who is just starting to piss me off.

"If you would wire the funds through Western Union, or Money-Gram, I can ship this out using two-day fedex insured, which is the fastest and most reliable way to receive packages throughout the world..."

Just...fuck you.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>