ss1

Don't Get Left Behind
2001-10-17 - 12:19 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Conversation from last night:

Argentum:"Do you miss me?"

Lydia:"Yes."

Argentum:"How much?"

Lydia:"A lot."

Argentum:"Really."

Lydia:"But I won't come up to visit this weekend."

Argentum:"Ooookay.� Why not?"

Lydia:"Well, firstly, I may end up doing something with a friend. And second, I don't know if I can...do... this anymore.� I still feel intimidated, and like, I'm in way over my head when I hang out with you.� And I'm not happy with the way we met, I know you are, but I'm not.� Its something that really bothers me.� I haven't ever been without a relationship, and I want to be sure I'm allright by myself.� I tend to neglect myself and make sacrifices for the other person-"

Argentum:"What sacrifices have you made for me?"

Lydia:"Well...none."

Argentum:"Okay. Just checking."

Lydia:"And I'm just not sure I want to have sex right now.� Because when I do with you, I have these strong feelings...and...and...I'm just not ready for that right now.� I'm not ready for a relationship."

Argentum:"I never asked you for anything."

Lydia:"What do you mean?"

Argentum:"Like, I never asked you for anything, like a commitment or anything."

Lydia:"I know, but I wouldn't feel right, having sex without a commitment."

Argentum (thinking):� Well, what have you been doing the past month and a half?� Looney, looney, looney

Lydia:"And, I kinda' feel we have a relationship right now."

Argentum:"Uh...Does this have anything to do with your ex-boyfriend."

Lydia:"No.� This has nothing to do with that."

Argentum:"Did I do something wrong?"

Lydia:"No."

Argentum:"So, this is the basic, 'its not you, its me' speech."

Lydia"-"

Argentum:"Youre making me feel like I am a) not good enough for you, and b) not worth your time-

Lydia:"That is so unfair of you to say."

Argentum:"Hey, whatever.� I'm not going to try to change your mind. I respect any decision you make.� I truly understand wanting to be okay on your own before getting involved with someone else, because I do that myself.� And I don't want someone to be with me that doesn't want to be with me, you know?"

(pause)

Argentum:"I'm going to miss you."

Lydia:"I'm going to miss you, too."

(pause)

Argentum:"I love you."

Lydia:"Don't say that."

Argentum:"Well, its true.� I do. (pause)� When was the last time you told someone you loved them?"

Lydia:"I told my mom today."

Argentum:"Someone besides your parents."

Lydia:"Uhh-"

Argentum:"-and your sister."

(pause)

Lydia:"I don't know.� When was the last time you said it to someone beside your parents or your brother?"

Argentum:"I say it all the time.� I used to think it cheapened the value to say it too much.� Like there was this unbelievable standard to be reached before I would tell someone I loved them, but I learned that was wrong.� Love's value increases the more you try to give it away."

(pause)

Argentum:"I think you are a beautiful, wonderful girl, that any guy would be lucky to be with.� I always felt like I could trust you, and that counts for a lot.� I think you are smart, special.� I enjoyed the time we spent together.� I hope you figure everything out.� I hope you get good grades and do well."

Lydia:"I'm not sure I'm making the right decision."

Argentum:"I wish you the best of everything."

Lydia:"I'll call you...soon."

Argentum:"I won't hold my breath."

Lydia:"How can you say that to me?� If I say I'll call, I'll call."

Argentum"Yeah, right.� Sure. I hope everything works out for you."

( long pause)

Argentum:"Sleep well."

(long pause)

Lydia:"Goodnight."

Argentum:"Goodnight."


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>