ss1

Shifts.
2001-07-04 - 3:53 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Evil walked in through the door at 10:30 p.m. personafied in the form of 3 mexican gangbangers and their girlfriends.

I held the tap for one of them while they did a keg stand.

The people came in waves all night. Almost like shifts. I enjoyed the freakshow.

I think maybe seven phonecalls were made to get the ball rolling, all told.

And I couldn't guess how many shifts there were. Ebbing and flowing like a human tide, it flowed together in a rhythym. So many people. So little attention span. How did this happen?

I stood on the flagstone patio, musing with Don.

"I don't know anyone in the backyard."

"Me either."

This happened more than once. Friends. Friends of friends. Friends of friends of friends. Employees. Co-horts. Peers. Work-buddies. Everybody had an in, and they took it.

Odd minor insight: A preternatural mating dance broke out on my front porch after That Guy materialized from the garage. Not the loud obnoxious version of That Guy, but the small, bald brooding, sweating-it-over-a-flirtatious-yet-overbearing-large sized-pushy california girl version. Guy, How does that make you jealous. Its not her, its you...stop blaming your parents. He took his beastly mate and fled.

Excess and debauchery prevailed, the party gaining precipitous momentum as the night continued. More of everything. More, more, more.

Eventually found myself tired. Too many people in too many shifts.

I went to bed at 3:30. The party kept on until 7:00 am.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>