ss1

A Really Nice Girl
2002-07-31 - 5:49 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I had a chat with the desk girl in the gym today.

She's a cute blonde girl, tall, but not too tall, great figure.  Maybe somewhere around twenty years old, in college, knows her major.  Looks like a  low maintenance girl.  Shy but not timid.  Ambitious and intelligent, a girl who'd likely make the mistake of connecting with an unambitous guy because she still doesn't know better.  Some never do.

She's been on vacation, and I have not been able to give her attention, which is a vice I allow myself.

The cute desk girl at the gym always gets way too much attention.  I tend not to follow the crowd.

But I like her, at least enough to amuse myself with her.

"So, Alicia," I started in on her. "You've been gone." 

"Yes," she said.

"Did you go on vacation?"  I asked.

"Yes,"

"Where did you go?"

"Ohio."

"You went to Ohio for a vacation?"

"Yes."

"Well, I guess that is an exciting destination."

"It is."

"Lots of thrills to be had in Ohio."

"There were:  I got a flat tire."

"Really."

"Yes."

"Lots of chills and spills."

"Definitely."

She seemed a little more...angry than I remembered.  Something about her tone of voice and expressions.  Either she really missed me, or was ready to strangle me.

And I went back to working out.  Today is my light day, but I need to take a week off to recharge.  I am about two weeks late to do that.  So I take another break, and start in again.

"Did you go to Cedar Point?"  I asked.   (cedar point is an amusement park in ohio that draws from surrounding states)

"No."  she said, smiling at me.

"Rock and Roll Hall of fame?"

"No." 

"Pro-Football Hall of Fame?" 

(that one was for my own pure amusement...for some reason, I dig the way she takes every inane question I ask seriously, giving it thought and consideration it really doesn't deserve, and trying to come up with the correct answer, or rather, what she thinks I want to hear.  I was ready to start listing all kinds of places.)

"No.  I went to camp."  She said, finally.

"You went to camp."  I said.

"Yes,"

"What sort of camp?"  I asked.

"Church camp."  She said.

"Church camp."  I said, nodding, and mulling this new bit of information over, "So you're like, a really nice girl or something."

"Yeah,"  she said, and then got self-concious about her answer, "I guess.  I don't know."

I laughed genially and walked away.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>