ss1

Notes From Hither and Yon
2001-07-07 - 1:01 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Okay.  Grabbed a moment and a piece of time?  Space? Reality?

Who knows.  Lost track of time for awhile.  So maybe I just grabbed a moment of space.

Indeed.

So I went up to the suicide bench again.  Or rather, the sucide memorial benches, flagstone, and statue.

The storms grew thick as I approached the town.  Lightning danced among the peaks, a strange counterpoint to the snow.

It was balmy, humid from a flow of sub-tropical air from the south, and this caused beauty in the splederous form of hearing the rumbles of thunder roll through the valley.  Like nothing anyone has heard before, or since, the declaration of violence, and the brutal compact of nature.

I went to the bluff, and its incredible view of the lake and the mountains.

"Hey sweetheart."

Its become my standard greeting.

I sat and watched the angle of light shift and change throught the storm.  Certain mountains backlight, some fore lit, a scintillating pattern of the Good and the Beautiful as the rain fell down, sometime never reaching the ground, a cleansing angellic kiss for the areas He loves so much.

And I soaked it all in, smoking some killer sensimilla.  Not many people in the park today.

I thought of the girl, for no real reason at all, other than sitting next to a life sized statue of a sad little seventeen year old girl.

Far off in the distance, I swear I heard her questioning me.

You're a lost soul, sweetheart, kept close to much to the earth. 

You can't stay here until this all fades, because...because...becau-

Is there a wasting of the soul?  A dimming?  A fade?

Why couldn't she stay until the world burns her perch from under her?

Of course that plays into the likely sense of control of which her parents attempted to deprive her.  Even in death. 

A man, a local, walked past me, saw me sitting there and smiled in an odd way.  Like I was keeping her company.  In a That's Nice way.  A paternal sort of way.

I wondered if that was her dad.  Should I question him about What This Is All About?  Find out What He Knows?  If Anything?

Didn't know.  Swear I heard a girls voice.

Dad!  Dad!  Daddy!

But I let it go, because, well, that's just too weird for me, however that would pan out.

And I sat back down as the sweet chill rain began to fall, sweeping out of the sky like tears.

And I enjoyed it.  The feeling of getting wet. 

I watched the colors change in the sky.

I got up to do something.

And heard again, off in the distance in the same voice

"Bye."

I guess I must have got up to leave, but never really thought of it.  Maybe I sank into the zen of it all.

"Seeya."

I drove home as the storms grew thicker and more powerful, pouring down out of the mountains.

At home, the skies opened up.  Lightning flashed and thunder roared.

A cool breeze puffed in through the windows.  The sidewalk was alive with the pattering of rain.

I smoked more pot, my head was weary from the day contemplations.

I lay down on the couch, and the sound of the storm lulled me to sleep.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>