ss1

Mundane Bullshit And Battling With The Dog
2001-10-31 - 11:02 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Went trick or treating at the booze store.  Bastards gave me a twizzler.

Been working in the south of town, upgrading computers.  This will last a week or two.

I have options, but seem to rather watch my life crash around me in slow motion, like its been doing for six months and counting.  Much like watching a glass fall off of a shelf, and not grabbing it, unsure if you could or just want to hear the splintering of broken glass.

I find it hard to care.  I always have an escape route or two anyway.

"Trick or Treat."

"Who are you?"

"I'm a frustrated twenty-something.  Give me some candy to soothe my angst."

I've been battling with the dog lately.  Son-of-a-bitch stole my food one goddam time too many. 

Okay, the story breaks down like this:  the black lurking bastard was following me around incessantly, demanding to be walked.

Walking the dog, or really, anything to do with the dog is not my responsibility, as per the agreement.

Being tired, I turned and said, "NO."  He knew what I meant.

I hopped in the shower, and when I got out, I noticed he'd stolen two peices of pizza from the counter, fleeing into Roomie's room to sleep, safe from punishment.

Now, I was most likely going to throw that shit away, but its the priciple I'm talking about here, and men live and die for principles, I am a man, and sometime creature of principle, half-way civilized, and am incensed that he so blatantly crossed my turf.

Fuck with me, will you?  I know your agenda now, you hairy black prick.  It didn't occur to me that he was acting out for my denial of walking him until later.

So I wake up the next morning pissed.  I call him over to the empty pizza box, and he slowly sulks over like a victim to the execution, I stick his nose in it and tell him he's a bad dog.

Then I let him stay outside.

Fifteen minutes later, he has a box of mine that he chews on in the yard.  It contained old brake pads.

Again, I was going to throw it away, but its the priciple of the deal, and this beast was going to learn who was in charge.

I again put his nose in it, telling him he's a bad dog, (such a harsh indictment for a position of singular responsibilities), and go to work.

I come home to find a note from the cranky neighbor-lady saying that he barked all day, and she was going to call animal control.  (Deluded immigrant lunatic, still thinks this is the Rheinland and der Fuhrer is in charge. This is the second bitchy letter she has written and fifth time she has fucked with us over trivial details, like starting a motorcycle in the alley while her child is sleeping.  Fuck the little bastard, he's not a baby, and should not sleep until three in the afternoon.)

Then the battlelines were drawn.  I withheld all love and attention for three days until he cracked.

By the third day, he was going crazy.  Dog has aligned itself with man in such a way, that sheer denial of attention warps their minds.  There is no need to raise your voice or to physically punish a dog.  Attention is the succor to their simple souls.

By the third day, I would say "Go" and he would go lock himself in the kennel until I let him out.  Self-flagellation, I had nothing to do with it.  I had won the contest of wills, and decreed myself the winner.

I am also on track to quit smoking.

I am seeing patterns everywhere.

Knee-deep in the mundane.  I need a giant spade to shovel myself out. 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>