ss1

Startling the Herd
2002-06-14 - 5:41 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

"Is that your disc?  Do you like it?"  the surly desk girl said.

I looked at her and made gutteral sounds.  The second disc did not seem to go over quite so well, and startled the herd.

"Well, good then, take it home.  Get it outta' here.  I don't ever wanna' hear it again."

"Ohhhh-kayyyy" I said with an exhale of air and wide eyes of disbelief, the kind of look you give a buddy when its all guys sitting around drinking beer and someone just started to act a little bit weird.

However, she persisted.

"Because, if you don't, I'm just going to throw it away,"  she said fimly from her acne scarred milk sour face.  She was dumb and boring, as evidenced by her job, and if she had any moxy, she'd long been gone.

This was her chance to excercise power, and she was not missing it, treating me like a dumb brute.

I let her toddle off. 

The prior disc had met with disbelief, but no one challenged me.  One muscelhead, I believe went to complain, but I got the sense that it was a territorial thing, and he also wanted to make points with the milk-sour girl, much like a tattle-tale does with a teacher, not understanding that teachers hate tattletales, also.

But it passed.  They looked at me oddly, and then they let it slide.

So I put in another one, a bit more aggressive.  This bothered everyone, besides the fact that its a multi-platinum album, and a rather old one, as far as contemporary music is concerned at that.

And she came and bitched at me.  Interesting.  Profanity disturbs.  Conservative wusses. 

Undoubtedly now I am marked as 'that guy that listens to weird music'.  Which is fine by me, as I give a fuck less what anyone thinks, still.

And as I left I turned my head as I walked out the door, and saw a cute blonde girl looking at me.

Ah yes, a lid for every kettle.  There is always a strain of women who are drawn to the oddball.  The bad guy.  'That guy who listens to weird music'.

And nothing was stolen. 

We'll see what happens next time.

Oh, HELL no I'm not letting this one go.

I think I startled the herd a little today.   I think that's all right.

Herd needs to be on its toes.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>