ss1

Happy Birthday, Man In Black
2002-02-26 - 9:25 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook


The scaffold is high, and eternity near,
She stands in the back and sheds not a tear,
Late at night, when the North wind blows,
She stands at my grave, cries o'er my bones.

And she walks these hills, in a long black veil,
she, visits my grave as the night winds wail.


-----

Delia, woah delia,
Delia all my life,
If I hadn't shot poor Delia,
I'd have her for my wife.

Delia's gone, one more round, delia's gone.

Jailer, woah jailer,
Jailer, I can't sleep,
'Cause all around me, all I hear,
Is the patter of Delia's feet.

Delia's gone, one more round, Delia's gone.

-----

Drive on,
It don't mean nothin', my children love me,
But they don't understand,
And I got a woman who, knows her man,
Drive on.
It don't mean nothin', it don't mean nothin'
Drive on.

-----

Ask me if I'll miss her kisses,
Guess I will, everyday,
I don't like it,
But I guess things happen that way.

Ask me if I'll find another,
I don't know,� I can't say,
I don't like it,
But I guess things happen that way.

God gave me that girl to lean on,
Then he left on my own,
Heaven help me to be a man and,
Have the strength to stand alone.
I don't like it,
But I guess things happen that way.

-----

When I was just a baby, my momma told me,"Son,"
"Always be a good boy, don't ever play with guns."
But I shot a man in Reno, just to watch him die.
When I hear that old train whistle, I hang my head and cry.

Happy Birthday, Man in Black.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>