ss1

I Have Trouble Explaining Myself Sometimes
2002-04-01 - 4:27 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

[I flow like a typhoon, daily and nightly.  Will it ever stop?  Yo.  I don't know.  Turn up the lights, and lets go.  To the extreme, I rock a mic like a vandal, light up a stage, and wax a chump like a candle.  Dance.]

Bear with me while I explain this.  This happened a few weeks ago.

Anyway, I was walking back to a scenic vista over the river valley, some locals were conversing on the overlook proper.  Being in total solitude for the better part of the week, I sought to say hello.

A:"How do."

local:"Uh...hey man, what's going on?"

And I left to the other view of the overlook.  They were engrossed in their conversation.

I took some pictures and came back to the scene of the crime.  Being in solitude endears one to one's own thoughts, and I tend to talk to myself after too long.

Not so much, though.  Not carrying on whole conversations.  More like exhuberistic overflow.

And I had been listening to a lot of Johnny Cash at the time.

Now, Johnny had been diagnosed with Parkinsons a few years back.  Johnny shakes, much like Ozzy Osbourne does, but I believe that in both of these cases, its not Parkinson's but leftovers of years of drug abuse.

At least, in Johnny's case, it was a mis-diagnoses.

And I pondered the turn of events that led those men to that state, I also, in the back of my mind, played back a couple cuts from Johnny's album, "American Recordings", a particular cut called "Why Me Lord," or something, where Johnny recounts his luck.

At the time, I did not know this.  I thought he was merely bitching.  As in 'poor me,why me', rather than, 'why have I been so lucky, why me.'

So, as I left the overlook, I began flailing my arms about with limp wrists like the retarded, and saying in a high, tremulous voice, "Ohhhh, feeeel sorrry for meeeee I have Parkinson's....ohhhhh, poor meeeee I have Parkinson's feeel sorry for meeeeee." rather loudly.

Unbeknownst to me, the one local that I greeted was headed towards me, and heard the whole thing.

We shared an awkward silence as I lowered my head and went to my car, and I laughed a single hard chuckle as I sped down the road.

How the fuck do you explain something like that?

I need to be shot or heavily medicated with sedatives or something.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>