ss1

Somehow I Relate My Car To Feminism
2001-07-19 - 11:56 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

Got my papers from Human Resources last night for application to the COBRA program that extends benefits after termination.

So I ran that up the chain.

Yes, I still have a job. Yes, everything goes as planned.

Meaning I won't see more cash for awhile. September at the earliest.

Perhaps I should put out some resumes. Or start dealing drugs.

Either/or.

Don't think I'd be a good drug dealer, however. My inclination is to give the stuff away.

They also picked up my car today. I'm about to go and see what's going on with that.

Likely nothing. But its good to show face in these situations.

I've isolated the problem to a specific area, and that's good. I think being young, I don't necessarily get the respect that I command over the phone with my deep voice, and midwestern ways that probably convey an impression of age and perhaps some distinction due to my politness to these western ears.

What I should do is show up toting a sawed off twelve gauge and a bowie knife. Give the fuckers a taste of the Old Fear.

Why certainly, you can rip me off. Just let me brandish my accouterments for a second.

Good thing is, I am capable enough with cars to do my own work(and enjoy it), and if I can't do it, at least I know about what I am speaking.

Not like my brother's fiance', who drove for weeks on screeching rotors, so much so she probably damaged the caliper.

She took it to a "Just Brakes" shop, which really should be renamed "Rip Off Central".

They did the work. They replaced the entire braking system, complete with a brand-new master cylinder.

For those who don't know, a master cylinder is where all of your brake fluid is stored, and all the brake lines lead back to it. There is no reason whatsoever to replace a master cylinder, unless you are in one bad-assed accident, and it gets cracked, or otherwise punctured, which didn't happen in her case, a case of profound neglect in response to wear and tear. I would've told them to fuck right off.

Cost her somewhere in the ball park of $1700 dollars.

I feel no pity. She should have listened to me.

You've got to know how to work these fuckers.

I will say it helps to be a guy. Auto service will be the last bastion of anti-feminism in this country.

I fully support feminism for a lot of reasons.

My support is somewhat self serving, as I perceive a correlation between the rise of feminisim in the sixties and the activisim it engendered elsewhere in society, proving that women do run the world, they just don't assert themselves.

An ancient greek philosopher once postulated that if the women of the world stood together and denied men sexual intercourse, male society would be on its knees in a fortnight. He proposed it as a solution to the ending of war as we know it.

He is so right.

Unfortunately feminism right now seems to lack any galvanizing principles, and it suffers so. Right now the only commanality I seem to find is indignation, if not outright anger.

And that means auto sevice shops will still talk to a woman with condescention when she takes her car into the shop. If they talk to her at all.

As a guy, that's just a problem I won't have to encounter.

 

 

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>