ss1

The Dog Clearly Has An Agenda
2001-10-24 - 2:12 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

The cable guy showed up today with a flunky.

Apparently, Roomie screamed at the cable company yesterday, and rattled them.

The dog, Brixton, was happy to see he and his co-hort. 

So much so, at one point he opened the sliding patio door to get outside to see what was up.

The flunky walked by while I called the dog back inside. (sulkily, Brixton came)

"Man, I can't believe I just saw that.  That's the coolest trick I've ever seen."  he said.

"That's not all he does," I said, "He opens every door.  Really, its not that cool."

Indeed.

The flunky nodded his agreement, but I don't think he really understood. 

I am living with a dog.  We do not own a dog.

And this particular dog has an agenda.

It bothers me that I cannot figure out his agenda, but it is apparent that he has one.

It involves making people pet him.  I know that. 

Just sitting around, he will walk up, and flip your hand with his muzzle until he gets attention.

His agenda also involves getting as much food as possible.

And, apparently, opening doors in the house to watch us have sex, until cast out.  This has happened to all of us.

Hopefully, we have made him cross this off his agenda.

(It is rather funny, however, to sit around on a lazy sunday evening, and hear Brixton strong-arm his way into Don's room, knowing full well Don is humping.  Bam!  BAM!!! -shocked pause, Brixton pads into his room-  'Godammit, Brixton!  Get out of here!!  Get!!')

But this is the thing--this is not his whole agenda.  I hear him lurk around the house late at night at times.

Usually he just checks out a couch that I abandoned and have blockaded, as he's not allowed on it, and one of the driving forces in his life is to be on this couch.

And during the day, he will just go and lay in the yard in the sun.  Plotting out his agenda, most likely. 

I suspect its pretty high powered.  After all, he lays around all day, and we work to support him.

He's a very manipulative and subtle animal at times.   When I corrected some of his behavior problems with denial of attention, he definitely did things to get my attention.  He would go get attention from others, and sit and stare at me.  Once, while denying him attention, I put him outside for most of the day, he went and got a strange object, and tried to eat it--right in front of the patio.  He kept it covered, and watched me while he tried to eat it.  He saw my curiosity, and would give me a flash of the object, only to cover it again.  I did not play into his game.

And I haven't found evidence of him doing anything of late when we are not around...but I know he roams.

He's up to something.  I'm sure of it.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>