ss1

Rolling In Clover
2002-01-17 - 12:09 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Was meandering through my day, thinking how strange it was to be home, much like the past...years...hadn't happened, like a dream, and there I was, fresh faced out of college.

Oh, the challenges you will face, boy.

Then the thought struck me, as to what it would be like if the past twenty years had not happened.

I would be seven.

And thinking about going back to age seven.

At first I thought it would rattle me.  But I really thought about it.

And I realized that I could handle it much better than being twenty three.

As a child, I listened to the adults.  If you've ever worked with children, or spent time with them, you know how some adults are.

They just start babbling off the cuff, thinking that the child has no comprehension.  And some truth does come out.

My family is long lived, and I spent time with old people.

They told me many truths.

One was to enjoy being a child, and not rush to grow up. 

I didn't.

I spent my days lackadasically.  I laid in clover patches on my back, and watched the clouds drift by like ships with no direction.

Looking for angels on the top of clouds.

The old people would clamor around when I would visit, like vampires hoping association with youth would invigorate them again, a truths dripped from their lips like honey.

I always heard.  Sometimes I listened.

There have been times I regretted not doing as well in school as I could have.  Staring out the streaked windows into what seemed to be the boundless promise of a sunny day.

Playing hooky.

As I've gotten older, unfortunately not wiser, I've left those thoughts behind.

Its all just life.  Live it as one will.

And if my memories in my minds eye are of rolling in clover as the sun warms my soul, and some one else's is of reading, arithmatic, and applying themselves seriously through life, so be it.

I do not regret it.

I could handle being seven again quite well.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>