ss1

Bad Car Karma and Movies
2001-03-29 - 9:31 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

I have the desire to write a novel espousing the virtues of everyone leaving each other alone, but I think it would only apeal to the most apathetic people who probably wouldn't bother to read it anyway.

Got my car back. I am six-hundred dollars poorer for the experience. Muh-tha-fuckahs. Everytime I go there, I'm out nothing less than five billios.

Borrowed my brother's car yesterday, and the 'Service Engine Soon' light came on twice, as well as the 'Low Coolant' light. ('course I figured out what was wrong...I am a handy guy.) The 'Low Coolant' idiot light is something I don't miss, yet strangely my brother has been debating whether or not his car actually needs coolant, which is like having some one dehydrate for lack of water, telling you so, and wondering if they actually need water.

Then, on the way to work this morning, the 'Service Engine Soon' light came on in my car. Bad car karma is following me around.

.And now its time for a segment I like to call...

RECENTLY VIEWED MOVIES:

The Graduate: A must see if you have not seen it. Easily Dustin Hoffman's finest work. Soundtrack by Paul Simon. And for some reason, I think Anne Bancroft is hot. This may just be beause I'm congenitallly horny. Or it may be her sultry flair and screen prescence. The embarassment and awkwardness at the beginning of the movie is so well portrayed by Bancroft and Hoffman, you will get uncomfortable just watching it. Hoffman's true love interest is her daughter, and on their first date he takes her to a strip club, which appeals to my sick and twisted sense of humor. And the final scene is a priceless display of acting, as indecision and resignation are well portrayed.

The Deer Hunter: This is a true work of art. It is a very deep movie that I have not been able to entirely digest. The dramatic tension that fuels this opus is uncanny. Friendship and male bonding are well portrayed, as well as anguish of the soul, bitterness of defeat, and sense of loss. Deniro, Christopher Walken, and Meryl Streep carry the piece, and the cast is rounded out by several other supporting actors of the time, who you may recognize from other movies. The setting is around Pittsburgh, as several hunting buddies come-of-age, Walken gets married, and three of them get drafted for service in the Vietnam war, only to become P.O.W.'s where they are tortured by the NVA with a strange form of Russian Roullette, which they are forced to play against each other for money. Dis-tur-bing. Deniro and Walken make their dramatic escape, and Deniro and the other friend, Stevie, make it back to the States sans Walken. Deniro hooks up with Walken's wife(I believe) goes hunting once again where he gets a shot at one of the most beautiful bucks I have ever seen. He barely misses, which I believe is a metaphor for his Vietnam experience, wherein the circumstances around him tried and failed to kill him, and he yells,"Okaaaaay!", meaning perhaps that he has come to terms with his past. He then visits his fellow POW in the mental hospital, and goes back to Hanoi to find Walken, who has been making a fortune playing Russian Roulette and sending it back to the other POW, Stevie, and shooting smack like its going out of style. I won't spoil the ending, but its evident that something has broken in Walken. Broken beyond repair, and he looks forward to death. The contrast between then, and the beginning of the movie is so dramatic, that you have to see it to believe it. Its a long movie, but if you appreciate good movies, and not the formulaic trash that hollywood has been throwing at us for years now, then you willl appreciate this movie.

Jawbreaker: PURE BANAL TRIPE. The girls in it are very hot, Rose McGowan and the Noxema Girl especially. I watched it and thought,"Goddam. Where were these girls when I was in High-School?" But the acting is flat, and very wooden. The plot is conventional, predictable and boring. And the cinematography atttempts to over-achieve, and fails. I've watched it more than once, but I watch, w/o watching, gazing glazedly as gorgeous bodies glide across the screen, distracting me from my capitalist burgeosie lifestyle.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>