ss1

All The Boogeymen Have Faces
2001-12-04 - 7:38 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I am tired, but so what?   Tried to get up at 4:30 a.m. which through the magic of the evil snooze button became 5:00 a.m. 

What a perfidious invention.  Had to be there by 6:30 a.m.

Went up to the mountains today, to observe the kiddies and think about taking the job.

The kids were adorable.  (As long as they're not mine.)  Even the ones who acted out for my benefit, or weren't bright enough to make a good first impression.

One little girl was cute as hell, acting out like mad, they sat her down next to me, this tiny little creature of angst.

Scratches, likely self-inflicted, covered her arms.  She was feral almost, or so they say.

She did growl and snap a few times, and lay on the floor repeatedly.

Anyway, I think she liked me, because she acted out all morning trying to impress me.  And as they sat her beside me, she sat down sulkily, the mask of childish grit and anger, in her pink robe and pink and white pajamas, a scowl as dark as anyone has ever made,  folding her arms and slumping into the chair, she growled very seriously in a child's low voice, as if we would all have to answer for this grave injustice, "I want my mother."

I fielded all kinds of questions from the kids, the vast majority of which centered on which sports teams I like, and the vital stats, age and height.

These kids are 6-13 years old.  Nothing like the 13-18 year old multiple felons I previously worked with at the last resedential center.  Those kids already had one foot in the grave and the attitude to match.  We got along well.

These kids are raw.  And on a basal level, kids are kids are kids.  Its just what dents society tries to make in their smiles are different here.  Here, all the boogeymen have faces.

Still thinking about it.  The job that is.

Not sure.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>