ss1

Animal Lives
2002-03-24 - 6:05 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

In contradiction to my statements on feb.2, concerning Puxatawney Phil, I also submit to be admitted as evidence Ralphie the Buffalo, mascot of the University of Colorado.

He rushes out from the crowd, students clinging to him, and running beside his massive frame. Flahsbulbs pop. The band plays. The crowd erupts and roars.

And I thought about his otherwise passive and docile life. The nearly seemless quiet punctuated by short periods of extreme and indecipherable confusion. And I tried to compare that to ol' Puxatawney Phil.

I peered deep into the dumb beasts eyes, the flat plastic of a bare flicker of intelligence, to figure out what really was going on in his primitive mind.

Ralphie is dimly excited.

He loves thundering up the side line and back. He is not afraid.

This is what he enjoys.

And I suppose that is key.

Ol' Phil just has no clue.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>