ss1

Airports Suck
2001-10-23 - 3:26 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Went and picked up the roomates at the airport yesterday.

I have never liked airports.  Any airports.  Too much confusion, and shuffling around that seems like action until you realized that everyone is dying to leave the place, and the airport managers have somehow conspired to make this as difficult as possible so people have no choice but to spend money.

Roomie told me the wrong passenger pickup, and I waited there for awile.

I made some forays in, and finding my car untowed, despite the repetitve message, I decided to call.

A:"Hey."

R:"Where are you?"

A:"I'm at the United Passenger Pick-Up, like you told me."

R:"We flew Delta.  Why would I tell you United?"

A:"I don't know.  Maybe because you fucked up."

R:"Allright, stay there, we'll be right over."

And I went out to the car, to find a tow-truck attaching itself to mine, in that leechy way.

"Hey!  I'm here!  Don't tow it!"  I shouted.

The driver shrugged and looked at the negro cop, sitting menacingly in his SUV.  Its night out, and he's wearing sunglasses.

I went over to him.

a:"Hey. Don't tow my car."

c:"Did you hear the announcment!?"

An announcement peals through every two minutes saying that cars left parked will be towed immediately.

He glared at me through his sunglasses at 10:00 at night.

My car is one of two in the whole passenger pick-up line.

a:"Yeah."

c:"There is a parking garage right behind you for a reason!"

a:"Don't tow my car.  I'll be screwed." 

c:"The parking garage is there for a reason!!  And you're just too cheap to use it!!!!"

He screamed at me.  His rage towards illicit parking was incredible. 

I could see he was trying to work out on me.  I also knew that if he was giving me this much of a brow beating, my car would not be towed.  So I bit off my smart-ass comments, of which I am proud of myself for doing.   Had it been towed, the scene would have been phenomenal.  I typically lose it, for whatever reason.  Most of my feeling of freedom is stowed in whatever car I drive.

He waved at the tow truck guy, who started to reverse his process.

c:"There's a ticket on your windshield!  Do you see it!!!  Pay it!!!  You pay that ticket!!!  Or we'll come get your car wherever it is!!!!"

The tow-truck guy gave him a dirty look, which said "You're getting soft."  and  "Why are you wasting my time?"

a:"Okay. I'll pay the ticket.  Thanks."

I always end up thanking police officers.  Because usually they end up giving me some kind of break.  At least, its a break in their rule-crazy minds that I'm sure some take home and stew about later.  I feel like its a transaction of some sort, and my dad always told me to show gratitude when a cop cuts me a break.

That, however, is a story for another time.

He left, and parked off to the side, to watch what I would do next.

On cue, my roomates walked up, I loaded up, and we left.

Fifty bucks to go pick up my roomates.

Airports suck.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>