ss1

Drudgery
2007-12-13 - 11:45 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

drudgery And I think of the things I've lost

that have been taken away from me,

jobs,

love and relationships,

friends,

opportunities,

when I walk here.

The marble halls echo

with a small black child

playing the requiem to star wars,

on the baby grand piano,

in the lobby,

he, a prodigy,

soothing the restless souls,

with his precocious talent,

me dressed in all black,

as is my way,

seeing the cancer children,

bald,

pushed along by their parents,

barely able to lift their heads,

old women with treach holes in their necks,

fighting for their last breath,

while I will go on and on and on,

still suffering every step of the way,

and I wonder who got the worst of the deal,

the three way handshake

between God, the Devil and a Soul

come to Earth...for what?

Those innocent children

will be dead before their time,

angelic in demeanor

morbid in countenance,

the very face of grim reality

and the vast unfcirness of the world.

I would trade places with them in a minute

but would they trade their innocence

for my packet of tawdry memories

and reeking past of failure?

Would they give up their blessed innocence

and live only to suffer another day?

I stride along, the requiem playing in my ears

and I nearly cry,

for there is no continuum on which we both belong,

it is only the horrors of the drudgery of life.

I should be out achieving and contribuiting to society,

they should be out playing and chasing bumblebees,

and neither of us should be here.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>