ss1

Victim, self or otherwise
2003-02-25 - 12:57 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

The roseacea girl dominated the professor's time in class today.

She demanded individual attention best reserved for office hours, arguing with the professor and not listening while he tried to explain.  She's at least two chapters behind.

When she finally got a program completed from three chapters ago, and handed it in, she didn't have a label for her floppy diskette.  So she wrote on the black diskette in pencil.

I laughed out loud at that.  It was like she was being difficult down to the last minute detail, much as passive aggressives do.  Then I felt bad for laughing at her, if only because she'd likely been maltreated as a child by the other children.

Or something like that.  She kinda' has "victim" written all over her.  Some people have disabilities and challenges, but don't become victims.

But then, hell, who knows.  She might be part of the self-indulgent pity culture.  Some people you think got it bad in grammar school but never did.  They just end up making victims of themselves with no help from anyone.

Still, I look for the good and the beautiful in everyone and everything.  Or try to, anyway.

So I felt bad about laughing at her.  I thought of offering her my blue felt tipped pen, but as time wore on, I just missed the window, and I find that timing is everything.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>