ss1

The Universe Is Spooky With Werid Vibes
2002-11-04 - 10:13 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I was at the supermarket the other day.

There was this homely little woman in a full length beige coat. She had glasses and short tan hair, reminded me of a chipmunk.  Diminuitive.

And she was in the meat section.  I thought to get some new york strip, because, all though I have been reducing the raw meat intake, sometimes I just want to feast on the flesh.   Our indulgences sometimes tend to make us human.

Anyway, I towered over her as a flipped through the meat.

I found my selection, and turned to go. Before I went back to my cart, as I abandon it often to get my stuff, I turned to her and said, "Sorry for looming over you."

"That's okay,"  she said, and merrily went upon her way.

A few minutes later, I was purveying the meatball selection, which, for something so trivial, was quite slim.  I have one dish I am able to cook with meatballs, and I like quality, dammit.  But there is just not the quality I wanted. 

I'm not picky or effiete.  I just don't want peices of bone or cartilage in my meatballs.  I don't want to be reminded of the slaughter, I want the nutrition.

And this other girl caught my eye. 

I looked at her, thought about her for a moment, and went back to my cart.

I threw the package of decidedly substandard meatballs into the cart.  I looked down.

Hey.

I don't want these things.

Who put this shit into my cart?  What the fuck!?

And I looked around, and it was the chipmunk-girl's cart.

She walked over.

"Sorry, I thought this was my cart."  I said

"That's okay."  she said.

I took my meatballs.

"I'm just all over you today."  I said, shrugging my shoulders and shuffling off.

Later on, I saw her again.

"I'm keeping my hands to my own cart."  I said, "Don't worry."

Which is fine.  Honestly, I really didn't want to see her again.

But oh, no.  The universe is spooky with vibrations and strange ways.

She was ahead of me at the checkout line.

I noticed she had an extra large pack of panty liners, the ones you use for the heavy flow days.

It made me think of college, when a lot of my close friends were girls, interesting how I swing back and forth with that,  and one was chirping with the others about, "...so there I was talking with this cute boy, well flirting really, and we walk up to the same checkout together, and I have this REALLY HUGE PACK OF PANTY LINERS FOR HEAVY FLOW DAYS.  I was SO embarassed."

I never really thought about it.  I suppose if you wanted to hit the sheets right after the A and P (or whatever the hell, I always have liked the sound of the A and P, even though they probably went under a decade ago), this might be an issue.

Because sex on the period is absolutely not a first time deal.  That comes later in the relationship, and it takes you to a different level.

But I did realize that the display of her extra large pack of sanitary napkins might cause her some embarassment.

Then again, maybe not.  She was older than I, and of a certain age, women comfortably lose some of the pretense.

Not that I care either way about the goddam sanitary napkins on the check out counter.  I did not covet her flesh, and if I did, I wouldn't care.

But I don't like to bum others out.

So I read the tabloid headlines.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>