ss1

Tree Of Life
2008-12-29 - 10:55 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

tree



FADE IN:

EXT. A GREEN LAWN IN THE MIDDLE OF A RIPENED WHEAT FIELD

The wheat field stands sharp contrast to the green lawn.  In
the middle of the lawn stands a single cherry tree.

Underneath the cherry tree lounges a BOY.

He is caucasian, brown haired, blue eyed, toe-headed,
sitting in osh-kosh b'gosh overalls, barefoot, yet still clean.

Next to him a man, previously unseen by the camera's eye,
wakes up from a start.

He is brown haired, blue eyed, dirty, unshaven, and could
pass for the boy's father.

                         MAN
            Where-where am I?

The boy is laying about, playing with blades of grass,
clapping his feet together.

                         BOY
            You know where you are.

The man sits up, looks around.  He cannot make any sense of
his surroundings.  There is nothing but wheat.  For lack of
a better alternative, he stays put.

                         MAN
            I'm not sure I do.

                         BOY
            Are you where you want to be?

                         MAN
                   (pauses thoughtfully, unsure)
            I don't know.

                         BOY
            Then who's fault is that?

                         MAN
            I suppose...mine.

The man is surprised by the directness and maturity of the
boy, eerie in one so young, a calmness and maturity beyond
his years.

                         MAN
            Who are you?  Where are your parents?

                                                            2.


BOY
You know who I am. You know where
my parents are.

A long silence hangs between the MAN and the BOY.

BOY
Why don't you ask me something else?

MAN
I'm not sure what to ask you. I
don't even know who you are.

BOY
(looking the man
straight in the eye)
Maybe you have something you'd like
to tell me.

MAN
(pauses)
Not really.

BOY
(looking down in the grass)
Are you sure about that?

MAN
What makes you think I have all the
answers?

BOY
What makes you think I do?

There is another pause. The MAN thinks for a moment.

MAN
Well, you've got me there.

The BOY laughs.

MAN
Ok then, let me ask you another
question.

The BOY looks at him

MAN
Where do you sleep?

BOY
What makes you think you're awake now?

The man pauses.

                                                            3.


BOY
Are you sure there's nothing you
want to tell me?

The MAN looks at the BOY. He is non-plussed.

BOY
I could use a little help, you know.

The MAN arches an eyebrow.

MAN
I could, too.

BOY
What makes you think I could help you?

MAN
What makes you think I could help you?

BOY
You're the adult.

MAN
Ok...yeah...

BOY
You should know things.

MAN
I don't even know where I am...

BOY
Yes you do.

MAN
You keep saying that, but I don't.

BOY
Think about it, is it all that
unfamiliar?

The MAN looks about. There is nothing, but it does seem
familiar.

MAN
It does seem a little
familiar...like where I grew up...

He looks back towards the BOY, who is now replaced by a WOMAN.

WOMAN
Of course you'd say something like
that.

                                                            4.


She is in her early thirties. Elegant. Smoking. She
exudes both class and sex at the same time.

WOMAN
What makes you think there is
anything like space or time?

MAN
Well, I'm here...and I'm talking to
you.

WOMAN
Maybe both of those are an illusion
created by your limited senses,
trying to make sense of what it
cannot perceive, nor hope to
understand.

MAN
Ok. Sure. Who the Hell are you?
And where the fuck am I?

WOMAN
(sighs)


The woman is lying on her side on the grass. She pulls some
grass up from the lawn.

WOMAN
That's some mouth you have. How do
you expect to get answers asking
questions like that?

The MAN, chastened, bows his head.

WOMAN
(throwing grass at
the MAN)
Mr. Pottymouth!

The MAN sighs, looks away, frustrated. She stands up and
starts to walk away.

MAN
I wish I knew...

The MAN looks back after her. She has disappeared. He is
alone.

Time crawls by, the sun slowly arches to the middle of the
sky. The MAN gets hungry and decides to pluck some cherries
to eat. He regards the tree for a moment, then attempts to
climb into the branches to retrieve some fruit.

                                                            5.


OLD MAN (OS)
Are you sure that's a good idea, son?

Startled the man drops his leg back to the ground. Turning,
he is face to face with a gray haired old man with blue eyes,
somewhat shorter than he. Looking closely, you can almost
see a resemblance.

MAN
Well, yeah, yeah I do. I'm hungry.

He eyes the OLD MAN up and down.

MAN
Where did you come from?

OLD MAN
Is it *you* that's hungry, or is it
your body that's hungry?

MAN
I'm pretty sure its me.

OLD MAN
Uh-huh.

MAN
My stomach ached.

OLD MAN
Ok.

MAN
What would you do?

OLD MAN
Well, I'd either feed the hunger,
or try to stop feeling hungry.

MAN
Let me know how that works out for you.

The OLD MAN laughs.

MAN
Listen, what's going on here, one
moment I was at home, the next I
wake up here, next to some kid
who's got the market cornered on
creepy.

The OLD MAN laughs again.

                                                            6.


MAN
Seriously, he needs to lighten up,
play with some toys, or take anti-
depressants.

OLD MAN
You know, I've often thought the
very same thing.

MAN
So you know him?

OLD MAN
Perhaps not as well as you.

MAN
Ohhhkayyy...then lets try this:
where am I?

OLD MAN
I'm not sure what you mean.

MAN
How do you not know what I mean?

OLD MAN
Maybe your question doesn't make
any sense.

MAN
How could it not make sense? I
wanna know where the fuck I am.
How could that not make sense?
Come on, old timer, I just wanna'
know where the fuck I am.

OLD MAN
Well, we are together.

MAN
What the fuck does that mean?

OLD MAN
To me, it means everything.

MAN
It means fuck-all to me, grandpa.
One moment you're a goddam fortune
cookie, the next you sound like you
wandered away from an Alzheimer
ward. What the fuck's going on here?

                                                            7.


OLD MAN
I can assure you that you won't get
any answers asking like that.

MAN
That's what that one fucked up
bitch said before she vanished into
thin air. What the FUCK is up with
you people? Can't I get a straight
goddam answer from anyone?

OLD MAN
Maybe you can't get a 'straight
goddam answer' because your
questions are wrong.

There is a pause in the conversation. WE view the two from
a distance.

MAN
(deadpan)
You're doing that on purpose aren't
you.

The OLD MAN laughs again, and shrugs his shoulders.

The MAN turns to the tree to again attempt to climb the tree
to get something to eat.

WOMAN
What did you mean by 'fucked up bitch'?

The man steps down from the tree.

MAN
I'm sorry. I'm just frustrated. I
didn't mean anything by it. Its
just that nobody will tell me
what's going on.

WOMAN
Why do you need anyone to tell you
what's going on?

MAN
-and nobody will tell me their names

WOMAN
You know who I am.

MAN
-and nobody will tell me where the
fuck I am.

                                                            8.


WOMAN
You know where you are.

MAN
Do I? Do I!? Do I really?!
Because I'll tell you what, sister,
I DO know one goddam thing, and
that is I have NO FUCKIN' CLUE
where the FUCK I am. Ok? No clue.
None.

WOMAN
Why is that so important to you?

MAN
How am I supposed to get back to
where I'm supposed to be?

WOMAN
Where are you supposed to be?

MAN
At home.

WOMAN
Why?

MAN
Because I have to get up on monday,
go to work, so I can pay my bills.
And I've got to get home so I can
wash my clothes...so everyone knows
where I am.

WOMAN
What makes you think they don't know?

MAN
Because I'm here.

WOMAN
Maybe they're victim of the same
struggle to make sense of everything,
didja' ever think of that?

MAN
No.

WOMAN
Maybe they always know where you
are. Maybe you always know where
they are. Maybe there is no such
thing as HERE or THERE or WHEN.

                                                            9.


MAN
Ok.

WOMAN
Maybe there just IS.

MAN
That's all wonderful and poetic and
shit, but really? It doesn't do a
goddam thing for me right now.

The WOMAN stands there with her hands on her hips.

MAN
I mean, you're telling me nothing
exists, this old man is telling me
to try to not be hungry, I mean,
what the fuck...and you're asking
me why I called you a 'fucked up
bitch?'. Come on. Think about it.

WOMAN
I have thought about it. You're
wrong. Its you that's fucked up.

MAN
You know what, you might just be
right. Because I have no goddam
idea where the fuck I am right now.

WOMAN
You're so hung up on that.

MAN
Wouldn't you be? I mean, if you
fell asleep and woke up some place
and you had no idea where you were
or how to get home?

WOMAN
Truthfully, I just feel sorry for you.

MAN
Well, lah-dee-fricken-dah.

The MAN climbs up the tree and grabs some cherries.

WOMAN
You don't even try to see the rest
of the puzzle. You just take the
pieces you're given and get pissed
off when they don't fit.

The MAN eats some cherries and looks down.

                                                           10.


MAN
Now what's that supposed to mean?

The WOMAN sighs in disgust. The MAN eats some more cherries
and climbs down. He looks around for the WOMAN. Behind him
is the BOY. The MAN jumps in alarm.

BOY
Are you sure you don't have
anything to tell me?

The MAN shakes his head.

MAN
No, I really don't. I sure wish I
did...

BOY
It would help out a lot...

MAN
And I'd like to help out, but I can't.

The BOY kicks at the ground in disgust.

BOY
Alright...

MAN
(shrugs sheepishly)
Sorry.

BOY
Its ok.

Pause.

BOY
They're going to be here soon.

MAN
(alarmed)
They? Who's they?

BOY
You'll see.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>