ss1

Shiftless Loser
2002-10-25 - 11:36 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

As I wandered through the endless aisles of capitalisim at my local mega-white-trash store, on a dull and dreary night, I saw many couples. 

Not young couples, nor old.  Just old enough to have formed some sort of resemblence to each other.

And I wondered, is this what life has to offer?  Friday nights of wine and excess gone to consumerism and faux dates at the local superstore?

(and am I having a Carrie Bradshaw moment?)

I wondered fleetingly, trying to buy something to cheer my spirits on a day full of defeats, minor though they were, and I ran into a woman with whom I went to high school.

She was cute, and still is, with blonde curly hair, sensitivity and a certain pragmatisim.  There was always a little untapped chemistry, and will remain so.

She has a child.  Had been married for seven years, then got divorced.

Married seven years.

We chatted, talked about how we both missed the reunion.  I gave her a hug, and sent her on her way.

"Are you married?"  she asked.

"Married?  No. See, I'm a shiftless loser." I said, "We don't tend to do that type of thing."

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>