ss1

Second American Revolution
2001-02-20 - 08:24 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Welcome to GoLive CyberStudio 3

I still can't help but feel that this world, this life, this existance could be better if we all willed it to be so.

I feel as though things are kept this way to keep life extremely soft and enjoyable for a few people, and they have the power, money, and hired muscle so as to keep it that way.

Couple that with a quote I read about politics by Merle Haggard, of all people, and it said,

"I thought it was pretty damn obvious that we had a situation there where it made no difference what the American public thought. They intended to be in office, and they are in office. That's the bottom line, and we've been manipulated. I feel really violated as a citizen."

That sums it up pretty well.

Perhaps its the child in me, but instead of a grass-roots pulling together irresistable tide of humanity makeing the changes we need, and risking a bloody clash with the People in Power and their jack-booted thugs, I hold a small hope out for one American President to come along, and truly be a 'Man of the People'.

"My fellow Americans. I have interrupted every satellite feed for this, my first address after the inauguration to make a plea, directly to you, the American citizen.

I have considered the oath of office, that solemn vow, and now must take up my covenant with the people as sacred, and truly do what is right.

And I need you...every last American citizen to stand with me as I seek to make this a better place, and a better life...to do what needs be done...to do what is right for the American people.

This, my friends, will be something never before seen in the face of American politics, and in fact, most likely the rest of the world.

I hereby renounce all campaign contributions from special interest donors, and will introduce legislation to make the government be a resposible tool of the people, by the people, for the people, and not for sale for the highest campaign donors. Candidates will not be for sale. The practice of purchasing favorable legislation for dollars is through.

Also, I will introduce legislation to regulate the healthcare and pharmecutical companies, much like the airlines, or the utilities. Far too many Americans live in a situation that resembles slavery to pay off healthcare debts. These companies will be supervised, also to ensure the new wave of genetic information and treatments are produced and distributed with speed and fairness, as these companies will be loathe to make a cure, when it can drain wealth by simply treating symptoms.

I propose a universal health-care system for all uninsured youth below the age of 18 years of age.

In addition, I will, through a series of executive orders enforced by the FCC, curtail the advertising industry to a series of periodicals that may only show product shots, rather than the mind numbing stream of images we now have pressed upon us hundreds, sometimes thousands of times in a day, with the resultant effect on heart and mind, forever comparing ourselves to models and people of uncharacteristic beauty.

Also, guidlines and warnings will follow in rating systems for movies, to keep us all aware of the ramifications of this pop-culture obsession of physical beauty. We should not toil to iconize celebrities for the simple fact of physical beauty, as this elevation for such paltry reasons demeans us all.

Community theatre, and reality tv with real people, not actors, will be favorably subsidized.

In addition, my administration will work towards the development of cleaner energy sources. Most notably, the development of hydrogen engines and power sources. Certain foreign automobile manufacturors have developed a car that tops out at 140 mph and has a refuel limit of 272 miles. With American dollars and innovation, we can remove the stench of oil combustion in our atmoshphere. We can tear down the power plants. We can change the future. We can correct this pollution. We can remove the yoke of the mitlitary-industrial-oil complex from our backs, and my fellow Americans, what a nation we can have in this proud land.

And, finally, I will announce a new era of science. First, we will dedicate resources to the genome project. Much as the late great President Kennedy announced the Era of the Moon Shot, I now announce the Era of Health. I will detail a comrehensive program to dedicate the earnestness of our best minds, the results of our education, and the real dollars to back it up. It will take time, but every disease prevented or cured, will make this one of the greatest American accomplishments. Then, we will explore this Solar System of ours. A manned trip to Mars. But only after our house is in order.

And when the dust has settled, from this Second American Revolution, we will begin a national dialouge for education for all, on a life-long basis.

It is time my friends. It is the time for the American citizen to excercise his voice in a free manner. Time for the people to speak for a better world, and resist the chains and yokes unfairly upon us.

I need you, each and every last one of you, to stand with me at this time. To take an active interest in politics from the oval office to your local governments, to stand and be counted for what is right.

It is the time of the American citizen, the time of the people.

Thank you, and God Bless America."

 

Yeah...I know, but damn, it would be cool. In my mind, something for which it would be worth dying in the struggle. 'Cause I have a feeling this would draw the People in Power out with guns ablazing, in more strange ways and mindbending influence than one can possibly imagine.

*sigh*

But what a world we could have.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>