ss1

Got Out Of Another Speeding Ticket
2003-04-25 - 11:41 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I was driving fast.

I drive fast, sometimes as if it is my god given right, and I make no apologies for it.  I pulled up quickly behind a slow moving car as the road narrows down to two lanes near the mall.

"Fuck this." I  gritted my teeth and added some speed, hoping to get around the geezer before the road narrowed off.

And I noticed the police cruiser a moment too late.

The jig was up.  Instead of panicking or doing anything to get nabbed on an additional charge of reckless driving, I braked skillfully and pulled off to the side of the road into the gravel.

No point in denying it.  I sighed as I turned off the car, turned off the radio, and took off my mirrored sunglasses.

I looked in the mirror.  The cop car had just pulled onto the road to see me.

He turned on the lights and pulled behind me. 

"Hello."  he said.  He was of medium build and shaved bald.  Young.

"High low."  I replied.

"Did you know you were speeding?"  he asked.

"Yeeaaaah." I drawled.

"Yeah.  You were doing twenty five over.  Is that why you pulled over?"  he asked.

"Yeeaaaah" I drawled.

He asked for my driver's license and I gave it to him.  Glancing at it, he said, "Well, I appreciate your honesty.  I'm not going to write you a ticket.  Keep your speed down."

I thanked him, then went on my way.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>