ss1

Never Alone
2002-08-05 - 12:58 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Just whacked down a darvocet.  Big lookin pill.

He looked lonely, so I gave him three tylenol pm's for company.

(baby gone' sleep good tonite)

Sometimes I grant sentience to inanimate objects. don't ask me why.  Perhaps it helps me keep them in better shape longer if I imagine so.  Who knows.

When I lived alone in the city, I did that a lot.  And the objects would converse amongst themselves about me.  They really didn't seem to like me very much.

"Oh, I like you, Mr. Steam Iron." I would say, "We'll be together for a looooong time."

And I would place him amongst my other possessions, and the confab negativo would start.

"Shit you're in for it now, buddy."  A nearby plate would chortle,"You're in for a long slow demise."

"Whaddya mean?"  the steam iron would balk at the statement, "He seems like a nice guy..."

"He's a HIGH-ON!" a scrub brush would chime in, "An absent-minded HIGH-ON!  That fucker will leave you on for weeks at a time, mark my fuckin' words."

"Yeah, that," and a chair will sound off,"And since he likes you, when he bumbles around, and manages to damage you, instead of laying you down to rest in peace, he'll try to fix you, and your innards will be all hangin' out, and he'll keep working you until you're dust. Dust!"

"I've seen it happen before," a sofa says, "You're days are numbered, pal.  He likes you."

"Start sayin' your prayers," chants the silverware drawer like a choir,"He said he likes you, its the kiss of death!"

And usually by this time, I had thought so far into it that I had to let it go, ("Why do my possessions dislike me so?")and go smoke some more pot, or hash, or whatever it was that I was into at the time.  Mostly pot.  Marijuana was a good way to kill time. 

The nice thing was, these objects, as cynical and negative as they were, never were alone, or lonely.  They at least had each other.

I never feel alone.

The naked truth is, I can be anywhere on this planet, and it is a rare sensation for me to feel as if I am truly alone, even if physically, I am.

I'm all right with it.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>