ss1

Insinuations
2002-10-09 - 10:18 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Sometimes you write.� Sometimes you write to unwind.�

I suppose I'll start where I want to start, and eventually get to the stuff I want to unwind about, or from which I want to unwind.

Its good, its weird, emotional, I guess.� Maybe I'll get there, maybe I won't, I'm such a disrespectful bastard at times, I know.

Teasing you then not putting out with the emotional upchuck.� Sometimes it can be as mundane as a 'I spooned with my cat' entry, which, is probably par for the order of what I have been writing lately.

So we'll go back a bit.� Not all the way, because I'm not dredging up shit from childhood, and don't feel a need to anyway.�

My father.

My dad is a man's man, lets say, and its always struck me in an odd way.

He likes the things that men like, he does the things that men stereotypically do.�

Very manly.

He likes guns.� He likes to shoot guns.� He shoots guns at animals in the woods and crawls out there amongst them, cuts them open, and pulls out the guts with his bare hands.

He likes cars.� Muscle cars, classic cars.

He likes girls.� You know.� Never been unfaithful, never will, but likes to look.

He's republican.� He used to play football, and probably shaved before most guys in his graduating class.

The football coach scouted him out in the eight grade.

"You gonna' try out for the football team?� Huh?� You gonna' try out for the team?"

Or so my grandparents said.

Started varsity all four years, which is a feat.

All conference honors all four years.� Probably more awards than that, all though he's never made much about it.

A man's man.� Likes to drink and smoke.

And he and I banter a bit.� I like to tease him nowadays.� Our relationship has improved a lot, because we both have worked at it.

He's mellowed.� More patient.

And...I like to tease my old man from time to time.� Whynot.

So I noticed one day, he wears these deck shoes.� These tan deck shoes.

So I say to him, "Gonna' go walkin' around in your gay deck shoes, huh?"

[Now let it be known, I have no prejudice against homosexuals or really anyone.� I just thought it was funny.]

And I noticed he had no real comeback.� He sputtered something at me, to which I said, "Yeah, nice comeback."

So, of course, its gotta' go from there.� You don't overwork something like that, but you can't neglect it, either.�

One day I caught him watching the Hallmark Channel.��

("No, I'm not watching the Hallmark Channel with you.� That's gay.")

The Rocky Horror Picture Show was on, once, and I caught him watching it.

("Rocky Horror Picture Show, huh?"� I widened my eyes as if to say, 'woah' while looking at the floor and walked away.)

And lately he bought an old bike.� For exercise.

A girl's bike.

I want to say, "Gonna' go riding your gay bike through the neighboorhood again, dad?"� but exercise is good for him, so I'm letting it go.

I don't know.� Its funny to me, which isn't saying much.

But I do recommend trying to insinuate to your father that he's gay.� Its pretty fuckin' funny.

At least, if your dad is manly and such.� Otherwise, maybe he'll think too much of it and you'll run into him in a rest-area bathroom someday.�

Or like, if he is gay.� Then its really not much of a joke, I guess.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>