ss1

ET Bait
2002-12-01 - 11:23 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

So much to say, but all the thoughts seem to be blocked by this inane 'E.T. bait' thought that's been plaguing me.

I had thought to include it in a mention of silly drug induced moments.  But no.

That fucker sits on my cerebellum like a weight and dwells.

Yes.  'E.T. bait.'.

As in 'E.T. the extra-terrestrial'.

We were sitting around high (of course!), in that way that high people do, with tight grins and sore jaws, everyone with their own way of dealing with the grit and groove of the LSD and the nervous energy it gives you.

Waiting for the drunk people to pass out.

Which is an interesting experience, really.  You sit and watch them, match them drink for drink all night, no feeling the effects of the alcohol under the electric vibe of good clean acid, and they get slower, and sloppier as the night goes on, while you get fine and sharp, like a well cared for knife.

That is, once you get passed all the blurry thoughts, rapid fire tongue or lockjaw as it grips you, and settle into a nice hum of thought. 

By then, if you've dropped at, say, nine o'clock at night, by 2:00 the drunks will about have had it.  Some stay up until four, but that's often an exception when really, all you are supposed to be doing is sitting around drinking.  Amatuers abound.

And you will look at your friends with their glittering eyes, and you will know, yes, we went somewhere, but we never left the room, and we all kept close tabs on each other, without even being aware of it.  Sharing a certain psychic space that you don't talk about, and didn't even know until the last drunk fades away, and you can actually talk, rather than blather the party blather.

The talk will be rapid fire, intense, and certainly bent. 

Many things will be discussed, from the splendid to the inane.

And topics will come up like 'E.T. bait.'

"What the fuck is that?"  I asked incredulously, the corners of my mouth sore from the perma-grin.

Jim peered at the table, looking a bit confused.

"I don't know.  Something orange, brown and yellow.  I'd stay away from it."  he replied.

"It says 'rhesus'."  I said.

"Like the monkey?  What the fuck?  Hey, who brought that in here?"  he asked to the room, which no one answered.

"A bag of monkies?  I thought it was E.T. bait."  I said.

"Yeah,"  he nodded grimly, "I'd like to bait that motherfucker.  Lead a trail right into the bathroom and flush him down the toilet."

The drug was in control, and I couldn't help but laugh, feel it ripple out of me like a flag in the wind.

"But where would you shit?"  I said, barely able to choke it out past the rising laughter

"Fuck, I don't care.  Anywhere."  he guffawed.

And the waves of laughter washed away my blues.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>