ss1

The Day I Lost Faith In America
2008-02-11 - 12:49 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

no faith in america The Day I lost Faith In America

They sat behind me at the IHOP

talking very seriously,

A man and a woman

on their first date

arranged by internet

or maybe by a friend,

and they discussed earnestly

the state of affairs of their lives.

She had been beaten,

repeatedly,

as if she had been a man,

by her boyfriend.

"That's bad....behavior,"

her lunch companion  commented,

and she defended her boyfriend,

because he was the greatest guy,

he just 'became a different person,

when he drank',

Besides, it led her to Jesus,

so it must be all right.

"And what if you met a nice guy,

a real gentleman,

with dreams."  he said, "What

would you do then?"

"How many dreams?"  she asked.

"2 to 3."  he replied.  A very exact number,

as I recall.

And she demurred.  She wasn't leaving her boyfriend,

and Jesus wouldn't want her to leave him, anyway.

Then the man talked about George Bush,

and how horrible it was that he was President,

because he had gone into Iraq after

Pat Robertson had a dream,

and told him not to.

I remember thinking that was odd,

to base your opinion of a man,

and how you would vote,

based on a night time dream another man had.

The woman defended Bush,

saying, "I don't know what I would do,

if I were President, " she hemmed and hawed,

"All that pressure, I cant imagine...",

As if being under pressure excuses all the lying,

the spying, and invasion of another country.

And I realized each one of their votes,

counted as much as mine,

more even, provided the one

socially awkward man,

could convince his submissve

lunch date companion

to vote his way.

Then i realized

that right then,

right there

I'd lost faith in America,

knowing there was no hope for us all.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>