ss1

Atheists can be as dogmatic as fundamentalists
2010-10-23 - 11:06 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I get a lot of interruptions in my life. Makes it tough to write.

Anyway, I've gotten involved in a running discussion with a friend. He's a staunch atheist.

And I'm fine with that. I really...have said this before, believe in what you will, or, conversely nothing at all, just leave me out of it.

He makes a lot of valid points, and his main one is that its all physical. There's no such thing as a soul, no God, et. al. down to the point that personality and consciousness is entirely rooted in our synapses.

I understand his position. As for me, I'm a spiritual sort. I don't subscribe to organized religion in any event, and my concept of consciousness, awareness, spirituality and souls are much removed from the mainstream. I don't tend to share it with anyone, and I won't say more right now than the following: there is more in heaven and earth, horatio, than is dreamt of in all of your philosophy.

Ok, just a little more than that: picture one soul, punctually expressed. Lose your definition of 'you'. One life, one love.

If you're hell-bent on christian theology, I would suggest to any christian to embrace the words of Christ that said 'love your neighbor as yourself'. (and if you want a trip down the rabbit-hole, keep this in mind and read some of the apocryphal gospels, like the Gospel of Thomas. Just sayin'...there may be more to that statement than you think at face value. Also, even if taken at face value, is a good guide, which seems to be forgotten in this Year of Our Lord 2010 where Christian hate of gays and Anything Different seems to be the...rule of the day)

Anyway, I don't argue with my atheist friend, Dan, that much about it.

It just seems, as our primitive science evolves, and hints that the laws of physics don't seem to uniformly apply to space or space time--meaning that the laws of physics may indeed vary depending on where you are in the universe--and current prevailing theory points to the existences of other planes or layers of reality where other physical laws may apply, that at the heart of any black hole is a worm-hole, which in fact may be a gateway to another nascent universe...which may itself have black holes which are at their hearts have wormholes which are gateways to another universe...

How can you say anything for certain? It would almost seem to be a leap of faith.

Maybe he's right. But I think, the course of wisdom would likely dictate that, in fact, the only sensible thing to say is, "Well...I don't know."

I would very much like to understand the structure of the cosmos.

Ok. More to follow. Working on writing while wearing earbuds, listening to music and ignoring the rest of the world. So maybe I can make this work.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>