ss1

I miss my dad
2009-04-06 - 11:34 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

And here I sit

wearing my father's bracelet

In his august business

the place, more like a tomb

an urn of the ashes of his life,

I disturb nothing

not willing to stir up the ghost,

not willing to slam the door shut

on his life now one month past.

---may 2008


I tried to think of a way to memorialize my dad today, the day of his passing. I tried to think of what he would like. Depending on his mood, he'd probably cast about for some ideas until he'd arrive at the one he would like the best. And I know what he would say, because he'd said it to me in the past.

"Jay, I just want you to chase your dreams."

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>