ss1

The Gift That Keeps On Giving
2007-05-11 - 1:38 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

The Gift That Keeps On Giving THE GIFT THAT KEEPS ON GIVING


Joey G, Joey G,

You know, I never liked him.

Such a weaselly, almost feral child,

feral with fear, with need,

need for acceptance, acquittal,

with such pain and hurt inside,

unsatisfied until all felt as he did.

The need/neglect cases are always the worst.

Joey was a "special" case,

clearly a victim,

a victim of "the gift that keeps on giving"

a victim of life, and always will be.

Nothing more futile than trying to find

a place for such a cast-off to live,

shunned by his family,

doors shut in my face,

"I don't know if what they said he done

to those kids is true, and I don't want to know,"

his adored aunt said, looking imploringly into my eyes,

"But he can't stay here,".

She was searching

for the truth, for understanding,

and I had none,

no truth, little understanding,

only a cursory knowledge of the ferret-child,

who would punch himself when he did wrong,

fold the other boys underwear,

ask to do my hair,

giggle like a perverted wretch

in a fuselade of schadenfreude,

whenever anything ill befell me.

Joey,

who licked anyone who got too close to him,

who faked taking showers,

who smelled like rancid old gym socks,

was the start of my callousness,

the hardening of my heart,

the loss of care for the human side of things,

the abyss of need that he was,

deliberately changing all the answers in his homework

that I had helped him with

so he could ensure

that he got the entire assignment absolutely  wrong,

so later on he could blame me,

as I looked for his home,

as I looked for his  salvation,

as I looked for his soul,

and found none.


We used to get high after work

and discuss with carlesss disgust,

the lives of our charges,

like playing cards in a cheaply stacked deck,

and Joey,

Joey, Joey,

little Joey was the trump card every time,

thrown out with derision, despised,

a uselesss human,

a life-long system rat,

a cipher, a negative,

a drain on Society,

the one that we all could quietly agree,

that the world would be a better place,

if he

could be treated like a weed,

and eugenically plucked

from the loamy soil.



Joey,

despised by all,

used to pull up a chair and avidly watch

"Full House" on the television

before the Olsen twins matured,

salivating over the little girls,

as though they were

top shelf fully mature models.

He got kicked out of assisted living,

and I sadly have very little doubt,

wherever he is,

he continues to give,

'the gift that keeps on giving'.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>