ss1

Two Americas Embed
2007-02-18 - 11:50 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I opened up the notes section. �Just in case anyone wanted to give me some feedback.

Come on. �You know you want to.

Think about it, after eight years you could be the first one.

And I'm still working on the music player. �I think I'll cull it to music I could actually write to, unlike some of those songs. �So, Police On My Back had to go. �

I know, I know. �The horror. �The horror.

Somehow I think the legend of the Clash will get by without my patronage.

Anyway, I'm adoring the new audio portion of Saintly Stories. �And that's not just the percocet tallking.

This next piece is called 'Two Americas'. �Its an anti-war poem, as well as commenting on WHY America is in Iraq in the first place. �Also, I think, a theme through a good portion of my thought that occasionally comes out in my work is the notion of 'pacification of the masses'. Rome had her bread and circuses. �America has a plethora of distractions, rightly or wrongly.

I'm not trying to lay blame, but it has to fall somewhere, and accountability rests with someone.

Looking back, I remember when I read it, at the local university. � By then the professors were bringing their students to hear me read. �And I stood there, looking out at the expecting faces. �I saw one professor lean over to a row of his students and say "This, this is what you're supposed to do."

And I killed. �They ate it up. �Sure, its read meat, but everyone enjoys a standing-o every once-in-awhile.

I sent it to my former band-mate, and he called it a 'think piece'. �I kinda' like that.

So without further ado, here it is: �Two Americas. Press the play button twice to make it play. (once to activate the flash, and once to actually play.)

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>