ss1

Contentious Relationship With Home
2006-06-21 - 12:47 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Sometimes I feel at odds with where I live.


This summer, headlining the major festivals in town we have:  REO Speedwagon, Kansas, and Foghat.


Herman's Hermits is opening up for Foghat.


I wish I was making this up.


----------


Earlier in the year, Vince Neil played a bar in town.


He was followed up a week or so later by Brett Michaels.


I live in some weird sort of musical Hell, I shit you not.  Fuck, why not call up the boys from Air Supply and Chicago, see if they want to round out the fucking bill.  Why not.


------


Audrey and I went hicking.  Dammit.  I typed 'hicking' twice in a row.  It was meant to be.  Go figure after the Foghat revalation.


Yep.  We tooled around in a jacked up pickup, replete with shotgun rack, flea-bitten dog, overalls and moonshine, looking to cornhole city-folk.


No, really we went for my annual memorial day hike up at pictured rocks national lakeshore.  It was gorgeous, except there was a black-fly hatching, so she got swarmed every time she stopped to rest like it was straight out of a Stephen King novel.  So we hiked ten miles nearly straight through.  For my part, all I can say is that provided with enough Vicodin and Red Bull, I could hike to the fuckin' MOON without a problem.


Truly a magical combination that.


"What, you wanna rest?  NOW?  Are you kidding?  I feel GREAT!" 


And so on.


I got some great pictures.  A week or so ago I got a mat cutter and have been getting into framing and matting my prints on a deeper level.  I always bought pre-cut mats before, and now I have five high quality 16-20 prints personally framed and matted that need a home.


I met a crazy woman when buying the prints.  She suggested an art show at a local museum.


I called today, the deadline for submissions was two weeks ago.  I really should assemble a portfolio.  Maybe try to get a show.


I will do a study and go up there to take picutres during the fall peak season.  Then in winter.  The plan is to rent a snow machine and get pictures lakeside, from the ice, of the cliffs.


Then snowshoe part of the fuckers.  Get some amazing fucking shots.


And in the summer, I guess, rent a boot at an art festival and see if anyone wants to buy my stuff.  Whenever I get a print made the people love my stuff and gather around to see it.  So maybe there's hope.  If not, I'm only out the cost of the booth.   Fuck it, why not.


 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>