ss1

Just Another Saturday Night
2005-04-12 - 12:24 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I stood on-stage, playing hard, but playing precisely.  Focused, with passion.


The crowd barked savagely.  Off to my right, Mick had gotten down, and while soloing on his harmonica over my riffs, he was kicking chairs down, methodically, one by one in front of the stage.  The patrons loved it.


The owner of the bar, building, whatever, a rail thin woman with faux eighties hair and penetrating, Lady Macbeth eyes walked by, and said not a word.


Earlier, my professor stopped by and had drinks while listening to me.  A gap toothed drunk nearby communicated that he was proud of being mexican, and seemed to want me to pick a fight with him about it, but I wasn't about to.  There would have been no point in it, in seeing a proud old man's rage.  Almost like seeing his cock, its something you're better off not knowing.  Not for me, anyway.


And not for my professor, either.  He laid out a lot of what was going on in his life to me.  Just opened up, as people seem to do for me.


Just like the bartender did that night, a sassy blond woman.  24, blonde, fat, with pretty blue eyes.  She had a crush on me that seemed obvious to me, but no one said anything.  Her live in boyfriend bounces at the other bar in the building.  He's large and slow, but I imagine I could take him if the chips were down.  Not that I would want to.  No more violence, not for me.


My professor seemed to radiate dissatisfaction with his personal life.  He and his girlfriend are breaking up, growing apart.  He's reaching the pinnacle of his professional career, a doctorate in Network Security, while he seems to think his personal life wasn't up to par. He has six children.  Today he told me that he will soon be a grandfather.  He's 39.  His girlfriend's father has severe Parkinson's disease, and he seems to think their impending separation has to do with this.


The bartender told me she's no longer in love with her live-in-boyfriend, the father of her child. 


"We don't do it anymore.  I don't do it-one of us always sleeps on the couch."


I sympathized, but said nothing.  To both of them, really.


I have no problem with anyone telling me anything, I figure.  And beyond telling you, I really don't tell anyone anything.  So maybe that's why they tell me. 


I'd like to think I radiate a non-judgemental vibe, but that's difficult to say.


Still, it was a successful gig, the best at that bar so far, and everyone really likes us. 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>